September 18, 2018

Cover Reveal & Giveaway - The Songs That Brought Me Back

Coming December 4th
The Songs That Brought Me Back by Mylissa Demeyere

Have you ever made a mistake? One so monumental you lost everything? I did, and I hate myself for it! All I want to do is close my eyes, and let the darkness consume me. Make it all go away. The end.

Ainsley is drowning in the depth of her despair. One wrong decision left her alone, with only regret as her constant companion. To escape it all, she makes another choice. One she hopes will end everything. Instead, she’s thrown into a whole new world filled with opportunities she doesn’t believe she deserves.

Ethan gives the appearance of breezing through life. But underneath his bright facade, he’s scarred by loss. When fate leads him into Ainsley’s world at the exact moment she needs someone the most, he can’t ignore the chance to right the wrongs of his past.

Ainsley and Ethan will struggle to help each other heal and start anew.

They’ll learn that the secret to conquering their pain lies within their power, if only they can do it together. Always together.

Sometimes the ending is really the beginning.  

   



What Readers are Saying:

A heartfelt romance with a powerful message about the sanctity of human life. If you've ever simply needed a friend, The Songs That Brought Me Back will resonate--and leave you thankful for the people in your life. -Taylor Dean, author of I’m With You and Chasing Fireflies.  

Another remarkable read by Mylissa Demeyere. Ethan and Ainsley had me laughing and crying as they face their own demons and fall in love while doing it. This book adds even more depth as it confronts suicide head on. Suicide has become an epidemic that some are afraid to address; Demeyere brings it to light from both the victims and the survivors giving us insight on the struggles of so many. It does not disappoint and I, again, am excited to see what comes next from this talented writer. – Amazon Reviewer  

 A beautiful sequel to The Songs of You and Me that cleverly illustrates that there are always two sides to every story and that it is never too late for love to overcome any challenge. – Amazon Reviewer  

“This poignant redemption story about second chances and forgiveness yanked my emotions all over the place. I cried, I yearned, I hoped. A beautiful story about what true love is and does.” - Charissa Stastny, author of Between Hope and the Highway and The Ruled Out Romance Series


   Author Mylissa Demeyere Mylissa Demeyere was born in Belgium, and resides in the beautiful city of Ghent. She lives in a somewhat organized home with her four beautiful children and the love of her life. If she isn’t working, she’s writing, running, reading, or enjoying time with her kids, who are growing up way too fast. The Songs That Brought Me Back is her second novel in The Songs Series, with a third book releasing in the middle of 2019.



$25 Amazon Gift Code or $25 in PayPal Cash Ends 10/9/18 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use money sent via Paypal or gift codes via Amazon.com. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. This giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. 
   a Rafflecopter giveaway

Book Blitz & Giveaway - (DAY ONE of 3-day blitz!) Fate & Fortune: Part One

Don't miss a day of this 3-DAY Blitz/Giveaway! 
(09/18, 09/20, 09/22)

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Book Blitz for
Fate and Fortune: Part One
By Robin Daniels

We're celebrating the release of Fate and Fortune: Part One, the first part in a Young Adult contemporary romance duology. Read the author's message below, then come back on Thursday, September 20th, HERE to read an excerpt, and on Saturday, September 22nd, HERE to read a second excerpt. Don't forget to enter the book/Amazon gift card giveaway below as well...

Fate & Fortune: Part One
By Robin Daniels
YA Contemporary Romance, Duology
ebook, 279 Pages
September 20th 2018

Bryce has liked Paige since they were little but has never had the guts to act on his feelings. Paige is devastated over being dumped by her long-time boyfriend and can’t seem to move on. They’re stuck in a rut, until fate decides to pull them out.

Both Paige and Bryce are talked into seeing a fortune teller at the annual Summer’s End Carnival. Neither of them buys into the mysticism, until the psychic’s predictions start coming true. Now, the most bizarre things are happening and there isn’t a clear explanation. Each of them must figure out if they’re the subject of an elaborate hoax or a bigger plan forged by destiny.

*This book is part one of two. Books should be read sequentially.


An Introduction to Fate & Fortune

I came up with the concept for Fate & Fortune about a year ago, but I was so wrapped up in my Perfect Series that it was placed on the back burner. Now that I’ve finally tackled writing it, the story has become a labor of love. Interweaving the plots between part one and part two has been much more complicated than I expected; a continuity nightmare. But in the end, taking on a more challenging project has strengthened me as a writer. My hope is that readers will find the premise different and exciting; and as always, that they’ll smile a lot and laugh out loud. 

Fate & Fortune: Part One follows one week in the lives of Paige (who has recently been dumped by her boyfriend of two years) and Bryce (who has been crazy about Paige since they were little). It’s a contemporary romance with unexpected and unique twists that imply a magical element. I won’t go into detail because that would ruin the surprise. 😊 Readers are left to wonder whether events are being orchestrated by a clever friend or manipulated by fate. This book has a fun and comedic supporting cast.

Fate & Fortune: Part Two rewinds back to the beginning of the week and follows the lives of Paige and Bryce’s friends. This book is where you get the subplot of the story; the all-important look behind the scenes. You’ll find brand-new situations that fall within the time line of the first story. You’ll get some scenes that fill in the gaps from book one. And there will also be some of the same scenes shown from a different perspective and told with different inner dialogue. In the end, readers will discover who did it, how it was done, fate’s role in everything and if Paige and Bryce get their happily ever after.

Robin

About the Author


The most important thing to know about me is that I'm basically a sixteen-year-old trapped in an adult's body. It's why I feel such a great connection to all of my characters and why I love to write romantic comedy. The kid in me just wants to be goofy. Besides being a writer; I'm a wife, mother of five, volleyball enthusiast and home decorating guru. My list of favorites includes: reading, Christmas, pedicures, dessert, steak, Arizona winters and most importantly, Diet Coke.


Blitz Giveaway


1 winner will receive all 4 books in the Perfect Series along with a $20 Amazon Card
Print books are available to US winners only. International winners will receive ebook copies in lieu of print copies.
Ends September 24th

Grab Our Button!

September 16, 2018

Review & Giveaway: Tori Kelly Audio CD!

Giveaway Winner: JM!
Congratulations!



~ Hiding Places ~

The first time I heard Tori Kelly’s voice was in a Nationwide television commercial. (Watch it here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OpfNY2_6Cto)
She has a smooth, compassionate quality to her voice that exudes substance and strength. In Hiding Places she delivers heart-touching spiritual lyrics with a Rhythm & Blues style. I don’t know what her musical background is, but I’m guessing she has had extensive training. Her voice is strong and her easygoing runs are controlled—like a mix of Corrine Bailey Rae and Christina Aguilera.
The CD includes 8 songs, each with its own unique style and flair. Some are pop-like, with buoyant beats and feel-good lyrics, and others are more tender and soulful in nature. 
Three of my favorites are Psalm 42, Questions, and Soul’s Anthem: 
Psalm 42 is a beautiful song of worship, inviting the Lord to “fill this space with heaven like a flood.”
Questions pricks the heart with pure and honest lyrics, pleading for healing during the difficult seasons of life.
Soul’s Anthem has a classic Gospel tone, including lyrics from an old hymn, “It is well, it is well, with my soul.”

5 Stars


To enter the giveaway, please leave a comment.
One winner will be randomly chosen.

“Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255:  “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”):  Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway.  Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation.  I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post. Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway.  If you have won a prize from our sponsor Propeller/FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days on the same blog, you are not eligible to win.  Or if you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.


September 15, 2018

Blog Blitz & Giveaway!

the Christy Awards blitz

If there were a Christian fiction version of the Oscars, The Christy Awards would be it. And we are teaming up with The Christy Awards to help you read good fiction!

Some of the best of the best, in fact. Last year's 2017 Christy Award winners included The Lady & The Lionheart (Joanne Bischof), A Note Yet Unsung (Tamera Alexander), Her One and Only (Becky Wade), The Mark of the King (Jocelyn Green), The Silent Songbird (Melanie Dickerson), The Long Journey to Jake Palmer (James Rubart), and more!

2017 Christy Awards
Image Source: The Christy Awards
The 2018 Christy Award Celebration Gala is coming up on November 7, 2018 but first the finalists will be announced on September 19th!! And you don't want to miss it! Make sure you're following along with their social media accounts so you don't miss the big announcement!


Christys invite

The Christy Award team invites you to two events that celebrate fiction, both held on November 7, 2018 at Lipscomb University in Nashville, TN!

First, from 1-5:30pm, is the Art of Writing Conference - a focused conference for writers, storytellers, and publishing curators. This is a half day of intensive seminars that celebrate the creative life, provide practical tips for overcoming challenges in a rapidly-changing industry, and answer questions authors are asking. Head here for a full list of speakers, including Carla Laureano, Joanne Bischof, Donald Miller, and Charles Martin.

Then, starting at 7:00pm, The Christy Award Dinner Gala will celebrate the art of Christian fiction, announce the 2018 winners of The Christy Award, and honor the power of Story, the legacy of Madeleine L’Engle, and the year's best in Christian fiction.

Wanna know which authors will be at The Christy Awards gala? How about Charles Martin, Carla Laureano, Francine Rivers, Sarah Arthur, and Cynthia Ruchti, for starters? Many of the finalists will be there too so make sure you follow The Christy Award on social media for the big announcement on the 19th!

christy awards gift card giveaway

On behalf of the ECPA, JustRead is giving away a $25 Amazon gift card (US only) to help you read good fiction!

Enter via the Rafflecopter giveaway below. Giveaway will begin at midnight September 15, 2018 and last through 11:59pm September 21, 2018. US only. Winners will be notified within a week of close of the giveaway and given 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. Giveaway is subject to the policies found here.

cropped-justread-logo.png

Blog Tour Grand Finale & Giveaway - A Great Light

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Book Tour Grand Finale for
A Great Light
By Jennifer Ball

We hope you enjoyed the tour! If you missed any of the stops
you can see snippets, as well as the link to each full post, below:

Launch - Note from the Author

Welcome! I’m so excited to bring you my new series “The Kingdom to Come”. This first book “A Great Light” will introduce you to Prince Karhiad, a humble prince next in line to the throne, and his band of close loyal friends who live in the low social status of his kingdom. The crown prince respects his royal family, loves his parents and brother dearly, yet doesn’t align with their views of ruling the kingdom. He appreciates the authenticity that is found in his friends and the lifestyles of the lower and middle class...

My Devotional Thoughts - Inspiration for A GREAT LIGHT

This book was inspired by my favorite non-fictional person who was a humble king. Although, he was never a prince and had no royal bloodline, he was (in the plans of God) next in line for the throne — King David. The extreme trials that David faces in his lifetime are so immense, yet he stays faithful to a God he’s never laid eyes on. He never allows his status as king to make him arrogant or materialistic...


“You came out here at night?” she asked with excitement. “Did you see these lit up in the dark?” She held her jar filled with lucent flutters towards him.

“Uh, no. I didn’t see those.”

“What was the woman’s name you met last night? Maybe I know her, although I doubt I do. A Trinicitian woman wouldn’t travel out here at night. We really aren’t supposed to travel outside without a companion anyway. I think I may be the only adventurer,” she said as she got into a standing position.

“I don’t know her name. I didn’t ask. I saw this magnificently beautiful light from my balcony. The curiosity of what it could possibly be drew me out here to find it. But it...” — he looked up towards the sky where he had seen it before — “it was gone.”

Remembrancy - The Kingdoms of A GREAT LIGHT

In this first book, A Great Light, you are introduced to 3 major kingdoms — Merrhius, Trinicity, and Ananias. There is also a few other minor kingdoms mentioned, however their focus will play out in future books...


"This book is full of fascinating adventure. I like the way Jennifer separates the lands with distinctive differences. They are close in proximity but so far apart in their beliefs and the way they live...

This is an awesome story and I highly recommend it to other readers."

Hearts & Scribbles - Excerpt

“Where is Trinicity?” he blurted out. She stopped her antics, and looked up at him. She didn’t respond. “I don’t mean to be intrusive. I was… I was just wondering how long a journey it is for you to get here.”

“Not long.” They kept their deep gaze with one another.

“Do you know…” He stopped, he couldn’t possibly ask, but he just felt so comfortable with her.

“Do I know what?”

“Do you know… why do people say they can’t find it?”

Wishful Endings - Why We Read Fantasy

Why do people read fantasy books? Because the human imagination is far more creative, compelling and fascinating than reality. If all books available only had a non-fictional theme, our minds would explode with the constant mental state of reality we’d always be in. Fantasy takes a person, even if for a brief moment, into a realm of excitement at the thought of “Wow, what if…?”...


“Could you ever show me your city?”

“Oh, no! He asked it!” Faith tried not to let her anxious feelings show on her face. Karhiad just longed for this mysterious place so eagerly. He knew this place was real, irrespective of what his father believed. He was confident this fascinating girl he met in the woods wasn’t lying about where she was from. The way she spoke about trivial matters and important issues was so alluring to him. The idea of visiting Trinicity, the place she came from, was very appealing to him. Besides, he never believed it to be a myth, and now eagerly just wanted to see it all with his own eyes.


"Over the time they spend together they share about their homes. How they differ and what they share. They call for each other. Then tragedy stricks. Secrets and lies and manipulation take over...

...I like the story though and am curious what happens next."


People are drawn to good vs evil because everyone can relate to such a battle. Even if the storyline is fantastical, everyone can relate to one of the characters in the fight. If it isn’t obviously painted out who the villain is and who the hero is, such as in Stars Wars with Darth Vader and Luke Skywalker, then who is good and who is evil can be a matter of opinion. An interesting aspect of good vs evil stories is that it allows the reader/audience to see redemption in someone...

Among the Reads - Excerpt

“Rhaevaehyn. Do you know of it?”

“Vaguely. They have a monarchy.”

“Yes. We have a monarchy.” He couldn’t tell by her tone when she said ‘monarchy’ how she felt about royal dynasties. He wasn’t sure if he should follow his statement by telling her he was a prince in his kingdom. He didn’t want to appear as if he was boasting. Besides, he was still a little shocked they had never even discussed where he was from until now.

“I know.” Faith’s lack of interest let him know that this actually was not the right time to let her know his inheritance.


“An old man in my city died this morning,” Faith said as she and Karhiad stacked twigs and leaves up into a pile. They wanted to see who could start a fire first without the common essentials needed to cause a spark.

“I’m sorry. Did you know him?” Karhiad wasn’t sure what level of comfort to provide her yet, so he kept gathering the driest leaves he could find.

“Yes. He was an elder that I would deliver dinner to.”

Tell Tale Book Reviews - ​Prince Karhiad’s Survival Checklist

√ Don’t fear anything… ever

√ ​Loyal friends in my circle who value me unconditionally

√ Physically train harder than what is expected of me as the prince


"I enjoyed this Christian Fantasy. Prince Karhiad is lead to Faith by a light. She was my favorite character of the book. The story is full of inspiration with the battles of good versus evil."

Colorimetry - Excerpt

“So, um, where…” She was eager to change the subject. “Where else have you traveled? Do you journey outside your kingdom walls often? Have you met people from different cultures?”

“I’ve traveled many miles on the outer stretches of my kingdom. It was part of my training to know all the terrain. The most interesting culture I’ve encountered would have to be those living in Ananias. They don’t have walls, so I guess they are considered just a village.”

“Oh, yes. I’ve read about them. How did you find them?”

“I don’t know the details of it. When I was a young adolescent, there was a man in our military who said he found a unique culture and wanted us all to meet them. My father took me out with him and the rest of the traveling troops to encounter them.”


"Jennifer Ball does a fantastic job of painting this world with compelling characters and vivid colors. There is some very lovely prose to immerse the reader into Karhiad and Faith's worlds. The writing style harkens to Robin McKinley's and other epic fantasy authors. Some readers may be put off by the heavier religious elements, but fans of more allegorical works like C.S. Lewis and Anne Elisabeth Stengl will love the message of faith behind The Kingdom to Come."

Don't forget to enter the giveaway below, if you haven't already...

A Great Light
(The Kingdom to Come #1)
by Jennifer Ball
Young Adult Christian Fantasy
Paperback & ebook, 298 Pages
June 28th 2018 by Revelation Publishing Company

Love and war are often the same thing.

Prince Karhiad is a humble king-in-waiting. His father, King Vilsig, rules the Kingdom of Merrhius with an iron fist. While the king dreams of endless conquests, his son only wants to conquer the hearts of his subjects through love instead of fear.

Meanwhile, a dark and sinister force threatens every kingdom around. And if King Vilsig and Prince Karhiad can't put aside their differences, an ancient sinister beast and his supernatural army will lay waste to the Kingdom of Merrhius.

On the night of Prince Karhiad’s 17th birthday, he is mesmerized by a radiant light and makes a decision to learn of its origin. That choice will force him towards answers he wasn't seeking, a woman he wasn't planning to fall in love with, and a destiny that will bring him great suffering yet an even greater reward. But in this gripping tale of good vs. evil, the power of love isn't just a shield to ward off the darkness -- it's also the strongest weapon of all.


About the Author

I am a friend of Jesus who at times fails at making this is my most important relationship. I am a wife who forgets at times this is my primary job. I am a mom who at times didn't get it right. I take lots of pictures that annoy everyone in my family except for my dog. She loves it.

I began writing short stories when I was a child. I would sit in my room for hours writing as fast as I could to keep up with my thoughts. We didn't have a typewriter and certainly no computer. Too often my writing would turn to scribble. I ended up with lots of loose paper with many short stories written on them in half scribble that made it too difficult for others to read. Thanks to technology, I went back to my childhood passion and wrote a story that I turned into a readable book.

That's me, to make a long story short.

Tour Giveaway


- 1 winner will receive a $20 Amazon eGift Card
- Open internationally
- Ends September 19th

Grab Our Button!

September 14, 2018

The Christmas Company


Title: The Christmas Company
Author: Alys Murray
Publisher: Hallmark Publishing
ISBN-10:1947892312
ISBN-13: 978-1947892316

She’s out to save the town from a real-life Scrooge…

Just as with any Hallmark holiday movie I’ve ever watched, I love this sweet Christmas tale. I’m overjoyed that the Hallmark Channel now has a fiction book division—releasing sweet, soul-stirring contemporary romances! 

The Christmas Company, by Alys Murray, takes place in Miller’s Point, a magical town in Texas. Much of its charm is concentrated in Kate Buckner’s heart. She’s an optimistic, sentimental, Christmas loving, cheerful, life-long resident who believes there is good hiding deep inside everyone—even miserly Scrooges like Clark Woodward.

When Clark Woodward, the new CEO of Woodward Enterprises, blows into town and announces he’s shutting down the event-planning subsidiary, The Christmas Company, the residents of Miller’s Point are disappointed--to put it mildly. But Kate refuses to accept the finality of his announcement. No more Christmas Company means no more Miller’s Point magic, no more best-town-in-the-world Christmas festival, no more bright lights, bright hearts, or Charles Dickens story reenactments in the square. Kate can't…she won't accept this. 

Looking beyond the hardnosed, hardhearted, stone-faced CEO’s exterior, Kate chooses to believe the handsome man is just a lonely soul in need of friendship and a heavy dousing of Christmas spirit. And who better to steep him in it than her? As Director of Festival Operations, she's helped transform Miller’s Point into a Charles Dickens-like Christmas wonderland every year, so there's no reason she can't transform this Scrooge-like man into a philanthropic Christmas lover. She has to make him believe in Christmas, and perhaps, in the process, convince him to restore the town’s Christmas festival.

This delightful Christmas tale has it all—captivating characters, witty dialogue, a breathtaking town setting, a touching plot with a nice build-up, surprising revelations, sweet romance, and a heart-swelling storybook ending. What’s not to love?

I enjoyed immersing myself in Miller’s Point’s Christmas spirit. I’m reluctant to leave its charming townsfolk, and I’m hoping for a sequel!


5 Stars

Cover: Love
Title: Love
Pages: 298
Pacing: Steady/Fast
First Line: Some may have called Kate Buckner biased, but she believed no one on planet Earth did Christmas better than the small town of Miller’s Point, Texas.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher via Bookpleasures.