April 1, 2020

Spotlight & GIVEAWAY: The Merchant’s Yield


About the Book



Book:  The Merchant’s Yield
Author: Lorri Dudley
Genre:  Christian Historical Romance
Release Date: March 31, 2020

It was a marriage of inconvenience, but life has a wicked sense of humor.

Charlotte Amelia Etheridge has cowered to her mother’s sharp tongue and endless demands for the last time. In a fleeting moment of rebellion, she recklessly asks a foreigner from the Leeward Islands for a dance. But her one courageous act lands her in a compromising position. Forced to wed a stranger, Lottie leaves the only home she’s ever known to reside on the isle of St. Kitts.

Nathaniel Winthrop’s troubles are mounting, and the rumors of him being cursed are spreading. Due to the dwindling sugar crop, he risks everything to start his own shipping company. The last thing he needs is a wife, especially one with a weak constitution. Yellow fever has already claimed the lives of his mother and siblings. He must guard his heart against falling in love with this gentle beauty, knowing island life will be a death sentence.

No longer under her mother’s scrutiny, the newfound freedom of the island rejuvenates Lottie’s spirit. If her days on this earth are limited, then it’s time she lives life to the full. Now it’s up to her to prove that even though Nathan was coerced into marrying her, she’s the one he can’t live without.


Click here for your copy!

About the Author




Lorri Dudley has been a finalist in numerous writing contests and has a master’s degree in Psychology. She lives in Ashland, Massachusetts with her husband and three teenage sons, where writing romance allows her an escape from her testosterone filled household. Find her online at www.lorridudley.com.

More from Lorri


The Merchant’s Yield is the second book in the Leeward Island series. The idea for my heroine, Lottie Etheridge, stemmed from a writing prompt—Pretend you are a relative from your past. My family has often speculated where the bright red hair that pops up every other generation (my dad, my cousin, and my niece) originated, since my grandfather was adopted. My opening hook at one time was Lottie’s mother stating, “Red hair is for opera singers and ballet dancers. You should have powdered your hair.”

In my research about the island of St. Kitts, I came across a French-American pirate named Jean Lafitte, educated at the military academy on St. Kitts. The concept of my hero, Nathaniel Winthrop, a merchant who could have schooled with a pirate, set my creative juices flowing, especially after reading about Lafitte’s outlandish and quirky behavior. I couldn’t resist interlacing the lives of my main characters with the daring pirate.

I enjoyed writing Lottie’s struggle between pacifying others, yet trying to stay true to how God made her. Also, I can relate to her attempts at rebellion backfiring, for I too could never get away with anything. Lottie’s soft heart contrasts nicely with the guarded hero, Nathan, as she peels back each painful layer of his thick façade to reveal the devoted and ardent love he holds beneath.

To learn more, check out my website at lorridudley.com or watch The Merchant’s Yield’s book trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lQLKqJfMf0o&feature=youtu.be


Blog Stops


Betti Mace, April 6
Batya’s Bits, April 6
Remembrancy, April 9
Emily Yager, April 11
Hallie Reads, April 13
Pause for Tales, April 14
Vicky Sluiter, April 14

Giveaway



To celebrate her tour, Lorri is giving away the grand prize of a $50 Amazon Gift Card!!
Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!
Click the link below to enter.

March 31, 2020

Spotlight & GIVEAWAY: Hope in the Mountain River


About the Book



Book:  Hope in the Mountain River
Author: Misty M. Beller
Genre:  Christian Historical Romance
Release Date: March 31, 2020

This epic journey is not at all what she expected.

Joel Vargas can’t believe he’s lost his older brother in the wilds of the Rocky Mountains after surviving their harrowing voyage across the Atlantic. And he can’t shake the feeling that Adam—his only living relative—is in dire trouble. No matter what the cost, he and his band of friends won’t stop until Adam is found. He doesn’t have time to contend with the two Indian women who seem to be shadowing his every move.

After the devastating loss of her daughter and husband to a sickness that swept through their Nez Perce camp, Elan is desperate to find an escape from her grief. As she and her friend journey through the mountains toward the great river, a band of white men is the last thing she expects to find, especially as winter blows in full force.

When the dangers increase, accomplishing Joel’s mission becomes the only hope for all their survival. If the elements don’t consume them, Elan has a feeling life will never be the same for any of them.

From a USA Today bestselling author comes another epic journey through breathless landscapes and intense adventure.



Click here to get your copy.

About the Author




Misty M. Beller is a USA Today bestselling author of romantic mountain stories, set on the 1800s frontier and woven with the truth of God’s love.

She was raised on a farm in South Carolina, so her Southern roots run deep. Growing up, her family was close, and they continue to keep that priority today. Her husband and children now add another dimension to her life, keeping her both grounded and crazy.

God has placed a desire in Misty’s heart to combine her love for Christian fiction and the simpler ranch life, writing historical novels that display God’s abundant love through the twists and turns in the lives of her characters.

More from Misty


I’ve always been a horse lover, and was blessed to grow up on a farm. My brother and I each had ponies of our own and rode hours each day. When we were old enough to graduate to full-size horses, we met neighbors who also had horses and loved to ride together. The two mares they rode had a mottled black and white spotted look, which I knew to be part of the Appaloosa breed. Through hears of riding together, I developed a deep appreciation for those two Appaloosa horses, as well as respect for the entire breed! Those two mares proved they could outrun and outlast any of the other horses in our riding group.

I’ve long wanted to include Appaloosas in one of my stories, especially since the breed was said to have begun in the Nez Perce tribe who lived just west of the Rocky Mountains. I’m so excited for you to meet Elan, the heroine in Hope in the Mountain River!

Elan and her friend are traveling through the Rockies on their Appaloosa horses, animals who can ride faster and longer than all the other horses in their group—even through the treacherous terrain of the Rocky Mountains!

I pray you love this story as much as I loved writing it. Enjoy a glimpse of the famous Appaloosa horse!

Blog Stops

Mary Hake, March 31
Genesis 5020, April 2
Rebecca Tews, April 5
Splashes of Joy, April 6
Bigreadersite, April 6
Betti Mace, April 7
Simple Harvest Reads, April 9 (Guest Review from Mindy Houng)
Artistic Nobody, April 12 (Guest Reviewer Donna Cline)
Pause for Tales, April 12

Giveaway


To celebrate her tour, Misty is giving away the grand prize of a $50 Amazon Gift Card!!
Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!
Click the link below to enter.

March 28, 2020

Spotlight & GIVEAWAY: Capsized by Death


About the Book




Book:  Capsized by Death
Author: Catherine Finger
Genre:  Christian Mystery/Thriller
Release Date: December 2019


As Police Chief Jo Oliver prepares for her dream wedding in Maui, she and her team must keep a serial killer with ties to her past from derailing her plans for the future.



Click here for your copy!



About the Author



Catherine Finger loves to dream, write, and tell stories. Retired from a wonderful career in public education, she celebrates the ability to choose how to spend her time in a new way during the second half of life. So far, she chooses to write books, ride horses, serve others, and generally find her way into and out of trouble both on the road and at home.  She lives in the Midwest with a warm and wonderful combination of family and friends.

Capsized by Death, the fourth novel in her Jo Oliver Thriller series, will be released by Elk Lake Publishing in December, 2019. Anchored by Death, the third novel in her Jo Oliver Thriller series, received the Bronze Medal for the 2018 Independent Publisher Book Awards, was a finalist for the National Indie Excellence Awards, and  Her second Jo Oliver Thriller, Shattered by Death, was a finalist in the International Book Awards and the National Indie Excellence Awards. Catherine and her novels have been featured on radio stations, blogs, and in numerous articles—all posted at www.CatherineFinger.com.

Catherine loves to interact with her readers at www.CatherineFinger.com Follow her on Facebook at Catherine Finger, Author, and on Twitter at CatherineFinger@BeJoOliver.

More from Catherine


In writing my Jo Oliver Thriller series, I find myself driven by passion. The genesis of the series—Cleansed By Death—was fueled by a passion to create a story about strong women embedded in a male-dominated profession, facing difficulties they could only solve through faith and community. I was vacuuming when I was hit by the idea of pitting two strong women against each other and seeing which one would win, the theme of book 2, Shattered by Death. Information gleaned during an FBI writers workshop on techniques for tracking criminals, superimposed over the mitten map of Wisconsin formed the bones for Anchored By Death, the third book in the series.

My latest novel, Capsized By Death, contains all of my favorite elements. The astute series reader will note that the foundation for the killer’s appearance in this book was introduced years ago in Cleansed By Death. But he first appeared to me during one of my many solo writing vacations on an island.

At the end of a fairytale day spent kayaking, snorkeling and listening to the sound of whales singing under water in Maui, the gorgeous male host of my day trip stood silhouetted in the setting sun. This man was beautiful in every way, and had the sort of personality that describes the essence of attractive—he pulled you into his beautiful ocean world. At that moment, I knew I had found my perfect killer for my next book! It became my goal to create a killer who was beautiful on the outside and evil on the inside. I used the New Testament book of Jude as my guide for the internal workings of my killer and thus the skeletal framework for Jude, my killer in Capsized By Death—book 4 of the Jo Oliver Thriller series—was born.

Blog Stops


Giveaway



To celebrate her tour, Catherine is giving away the grand prize package of a copy of the book and an Amazon gift certificate for $25!!
Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!
Click the link below to enter.

March 27, 2020

Book blitz & GIVEAWAY: Selah's Stolen Dream (and more!)

Selah's Stolen Dream banner

This is my stop during the book blitz for Selah's Stolen Dream by Susan Count.
This book blitz is organized by Lola's Blog Tours. 
The book blitz runs from 18 till 31 March. See the tour schedule here.

TAKE A LOOK AT THESE MIDDLE GRADE ADVENTURE STORIES BY SUSAN COUNT!
______________________________________________

Dream Horse Adventures #4
You can find Selah's Stolen Dream on Goodreads - Amazon - Amazon Paperback

Selah's Stolen Dream
One girl’s victory is another’s tragic defeat.
Thirteen-year-old Selah’s perfect life unravels when her beloved horse is stolen. Then ten-year-old Emma buys the dream of a lifetime at a horse auction. When she learns the horse was stolen, even removing her hearing aid won’t drown out the voice telling her to make it right.

But two girls can’t divide the horse they both adore. So will life surprise them with an answered prayer?

REVIEW:

When I was young (around the target age for this series) one of my friends was completely obsessed with anything to do with horses, and hoped to ride and own her own horse one day. This book series really brought my childhood friend to mind.

Selah's stolen dream is a fast-paced story that gave me a wonderfully nostalgic feel. It brought me back to younger days when the world was seen through young eyes with adult sized dreams. Selah and Emma are the key characters, and are easy to sympathize with. Showcasing unique facets of equestrians, show horses, and those with disabilities, this heartwarming tale for younger readers. 

______________EARLIER BOOKS IN THE SERIES______________


Dream Horse Adventures #1
You can find Selah's Painted Dream on Goodreads - Amazon - Amazon Paperback
Mary's Song is only 99 cents at the moment.
This story is completely independent of the three Selah books. It is the story of Selah's grandmother.


Mary's Song (Dream Horse Adventures #1)
Enchanting tale of courage, love, loss, and hope.

REVIEW:
I was not only entertain by this story, but I learned a lot. I loved seeing the world through Mary's unique physical limits, as well as getting a look into some of the realities of life on a horse farm. This story has a wonderful thread of faith sewn throughout and ran me through every emotion. 



______________________________________________

Dream Horse Adventures #2
You can find Selah's Painted Dream on Goodreads - Amazon - Amazon Paperback


Selah's Sweet Dream (Dream Horse Adventures #2)
A girl's quest to be an equestrian superstar is hindered by a horse with attitude.

REVIEW:
Selah is so easy to relate to. Sympathizing with her came easy, and I cheered her along throughout this story. Though she isn't without faults, she feels authentic and her courage touched my heart.  




______________________________________________

SELAH'S PAINTED DREAM
Dream Horse Adventures #3
You can find Selah's Painted Dream on Goodreads - Amazon - Amazon Paperback


Selah's Painted Dream (Dream Horse Adventures #3)
When moving threatens to ruin her perfect life, an equestrian child star must buckle on her spurs to persuade Grandpa she should live at the farm or give up her dreams and her horse.

REVIEW:

Growing up in a military family, I can certainly relate to the difficulties of moving as a tween. I actually enjoyed moving and starting over in a new place, meeting new friends, and having new adventures. But that's not to say there were some fears and sacrifices when doing so, and this helped me to sink into Selah's character and the measures she took to avoid losing her horse dreams. I really enjoyed the spiritual undertone of this story. It's perhaps my favorite of the series.

______________________________________________

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Susan Count
How many twists and turns can one person take before they figure out what they were born to do? Susan Count’s degree is in Applied Science–nothing in that prepared her to write novels for children. But one day, she began to write with no preconceived ideas. No one could have been more astounded than she was when it turned into a middle grade equine series. As a member of Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators, American Christian Fiction Writers, and Texas Association of Authors, she takes the craft of writing seriously and considers revision to be her super-power.

She writes at an antique secretary desk that occupies a glass room with a forest view. Fittingly, it once belonged to the same wise grandmother who introduced Susan to the love of reading via Walter Farley’s horse books. That desk has secret compartments which hold memories, mysteries and story ideas.

Susan is a lifelong equestrian and is owned by a Rocky Mountain Horse. She is convinced that the only thing more delightful than riding the forest trails might be writing horse adventure stories. She invites you to saddle up and ride along.

You can find and contact Susan here:
- Website
- Facebook
- Twitter
- Goodreads
- Amazon
- Pinterest
- Instagram

______________________________________________

GIVEAWAY

There is a tour wide giveaway for the book blitz of Selah’s Stolen Dream. One winner will win a $25 Amazon gift card!

For a chance to win, enter the rafflecopter below:

Spotlight & GIVEAWAY: Joy Express


About the Book


Book:  Joy Express
Author: Jody Day
Genre:  Christian Women’s Fiction
Release Date: Nov 8, 2019

Nearly a year has passed since Scott and Bailey’s Christmas wedding. Now they are expecting joy in the form of twins!

The day arrives for the opening of Barkley House, a missionary retreat provided by Bailey’s inheritance, but an unspeakable evil descends upon Bailey as she awaits her ride to the opening ceremony. Scott can’t find her.

Shocking revelations accompany Bailey’s ordeal. Will she ever find joy again?


Click here to get your copy.

About the Author


Jody Bailey Day writes inspirational fiction, poetry, Bible studies, and articles from her home in West Texas. She is a member of Faithwriters.com, American Christian Fiction Writers, and is the president of Critique Café, West Texas area writers group. She mentors young writers, and is a musician and music teacher. She and her husband love silent and black and white movies, and the chaos that comes with fifteen grandchildren. She crochets blankets for her ministry called Wrapped in Prayer Blanket ministry. Jody considers herself a professional nerd, and loves every minute of it.

More from Jody

I’m so excited about the release of Joy Express. It’s the culmination of a series that began in my heart on the way home from the first writer’s conference I ever attended. The East Texas Writer’s Conference was held at my alma mater, East Texas Baptist College, which is now University. I was incredibly inspired, and on I20 toward Dallas I saw a sign that said Washout Express, Exit 477. Turns out that was giant truck wash. My thought was, “What would it be like to be totally washed out, washed up, and at the end of your rope?” I’d been there and was on the other side, but I wanted to write a story about the process. Bailey Brown was born. Joy Express is Book 3 in the series and follows Bailey and Scott through a series of tremendous obstacles, and how their faith and family got them to the other side. It’s not tied up with a nice little bow, life is rarely like that, but it does come to a redemptive pause in their story. I hope you’ll pick it up and read the message of faith. You can come back from anything.

Blog Stops


Giveaway


To celebrate her tour, Jody is giving away the grand prize of a print copy of Joy Express!!
Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!
Click the link below to enter.