September 24, 2018

The Road to Edmond - Indie Movie Review


This review is a little different, in that I’m reviewing a viewing experience, rather than a book or CD. Such fun!

I expected to be entertained, roll my eyes, and let out a few giggles, while watching The Road to Edmond. I certainly hadn't anticipated needing tissues nearby. What a surprise!

Actually, The Road to Edmond is full of surprises. Yes, it’s a comedic indie film, but its roots go much, much deeper than that. It incorporates themes of acceptance and faith into a fun and unexpected road-trip, and raises important questions that the characters, as well as viewers, might be surprised by.

At the beginning of the movie, it was obvious to me the two actors were not professionals, but as the story progressed that mattered less and less. The plot is what moved the story forward, and the underlying message pricked a place in my heart. After all, doesn’t the importance of a movie, book, or story, lie in the way it makes you feel? The way it puts you on a new course or new way of thinking? The way it expands you?

There were a few scenes that you need to be aware of before having younger viewers watch. I suggest adults watch first, and then use their own judgment on what’s appropriate for their teens. There are possibly offensive scenes, using curse words, drug use, and sexuality, but in the context of this movie, most of it seems fitting. (There is one particular scene involving Bible pages that still doesn’t sit right with me.) Overall, the message is significant and reflective.

I wasn’t too sure I’d become attached to Cleo and Larry, but I soon found myself cheering for them both. As I learned more about them, their hearts became more and more visible, and they grew on me. They’re human. They have flaws, they’re sinners, they say, do, and think wrong things. But their hearts are in search of answers. 

This dramatic comedy, the characters and messages it contains, might not be for everybody. But if you have an open mind and an open heart, you’re sure to be entertained, surprised, and moved. I’d definitely watch them again (in this film or another) if the opportunity arose. 


This is one of my favorite lines, and a poignant scene, in the movie:  
“What if life isn’t about having the right answers all the time? What if it’s about asking better questions?” 

4 Stars 


Cover: Love it
Title: Love it
Producer and Director: David Trotter
Actors: Tripp Fuller, Nathanael Welch
Rating: NR (Not Rated)
Length: Approximately 2 hours
I watched an Advance Digital Copy through the Speakeasy network.


About the Film

Cleo loves his life as a youth pastor in suburban Denver, but his genuine support for a teenage girl has put his job in jeopardy. When the church's Elder Board becomes aware of the situation, he's asked to take two weeks off to consider his actions and the impact on his role in ministry. Distraught by the arrival of this news via email, Cleo grabs a backpack and bike to hit the road and figure out what's really true. His journey takes a turn toward Edmond, Oklahoma, when he hitches a ride from a mysterious traveler named Larry and his dead father. Larry's intense skepticism along with a string of peculiar signs causes Cleo to question more than his relationship with the teen... he questions the very existence of Love.

#theroadtoedmond

5 Open Giveaways!




Just in case you've missed them...
Click the open giveaways on Cover Lover Book Review!


PBT's Fate & Fortune Day 1 Prize Pack

September 23, 2018

$100 Giveaway!

 

An amazing group of authors has joined together to bring you one great prize! Just think how many books you could buy with $100! Or maybe you need a new Kindle! Or maybe you want to try Kindle Unlimited! So many possibilities!! Please show these amazing authors some love! Visit their sites. Sign up for their newsletters. Download their books. Review their books. Follow them on Social Media. There are so many ways you can support them!

Giveaway Sponsors

Now it's time for the giveaway! One winner will be awarded $100 in Paypal Cash or a $100 Amazon Gift Code! Winning entry will be verified! Make sure you actually subscribe and confirm your entries so you don't get disqualified. If you already subscribe to an author's newsletter you can, of course, claim the entry!  

Giveaway Details $100 Amazon Gift Code or $100 in Paypal Cash Ends 10/28/18 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner may be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter, Amazon, Paypal or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. The giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader/Clean Wholesome Romance and sponsored by the participating authors. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

September 22, 2018

Book Blitz & Giveaway - (DAY THREE of 3-day blitz!) Fate & Fortune: Part One

Don't miss a day of this 3-DAY Blitz/Giveaway! 
 (09/18, 09/20, 09/22)
On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Book Blitz for
Fate and Fortune: Part One
By Robin Daniels

We're celebrating the release of Fate and Fortune: Part One, the first part in a Young Adult contemporary romance duology. Read the author's message from day one HERE, read an excerpt from day two HERE, and read a second excerpt below. Don't forget to enter the book/Amazon gift card giveaway as well...


Fate & Fortune: Part One
By Robin Daniels
YA Contemporary Romance, Duology
ebook, 279 Pages
September 20th 2018

Bryce has liked Paige since they were little but has never had the guts to act on his feelings. Paige is devastated over being dumped by her long-time boyfriend and can’t seem to move on. They’re stuck in a rut, until fate decides to pull them out.

Both Paige and Bryce are talked into seeing a fortune teller at the annual Summer’s End Carnival. Neither of them buys into the mysticism, until the psychic’s predictions start coming true. Now, the most bizarre things are happening and there isn’t a clear explanation. Each of them must figure out if they’re the subject of an elaborate hoax or a bigger plan forged by destiny.

*This book is part one of two. Books should be read sequentially.


Excerpt

(BRYCE)

THE PLAYERS: Bryce-The Lovesick Hero, Janelle (AKA Mom)-Bryce’s Mother, Cody-Bryce’s Twin Brother, Kennedy-Bryce’s Little Sister.
Paige and I used to be closer. I think she might have liked me back in middle school. But like Cody said, I was a chicken, so I never acted on it. By the time I’d become confident enough to say something, Jason Marcos had stolen her from me.
I parked Mr. Martin’s car in front of the house and walked into the kitchen. The first thing I did was reach for the plate of cookies. “I hope you plan on washing those hands before you eat,” my mother warned, even though her back was to me. People joke about parents having eyes in the back of their head, but my mom does—for real.
“Yes, I plan on washing them. I was just testing you,” I lied, heading for the sink. She scooted over to give me some room.
“Did you make it to the door this time?” she asked.
“Mom,” I hissed quietly. “You can’t ask me stuff like that when Kennedy’s home. She has ultrasonic hearing when it comes to gossip.”
“Relax; Kennedy isn’t here. She left with Cody.”
“I thought Cody was going to work?”
“Huh. She told me she was going to the cafĂ©. Maybe he was dropping her off before he headed over.”
“Probably,” I replied, then paused before answering her question. “I didn’t even bother getting out of the car.” I sighed as I dried my hands and took a seat at the counter. “It’s hopeless.”
“That’s not the confident, optimistic son I gave birth to.” She frowned.
“No, that guy’s name is Cody. I got all the maturity, and he got all the confidence.”
Mom leaned on the counter and grabbed a cookie off the plate. “Why don’t you two make a trade? Some of his confidence for a little of your drive and determination.”
I chuckled. “It’s not only a confidence thing. It’s more about timing. Paige clearly isn’t over Jason yet. No matter how much I like her, nothing is going to happen until she is. I need some sort of sign.”
There was a gleam in her eye as she drummed her fingers on the counter. “You know, your dad and I went to see the psychic at the carnival last night. You could go tonight and have Madam Vorski read your fortune. Maybe she can tell you when Paige will be ready for you to make a move.”
I paused, sandwich inches from my mouth, then blanched before saying, “First of all, don’t say ever say the phrase make a move again. It sounds weird and gross coming from you. Second, you’re kidding, right? You want me to spend my hard-earned money on some scam artist? Who are you, and what have you done with my mother?”
Mom laughed. “No, I want you to spend my money.” She reached into her pocket, pulled out a twenty, and placed it on the counter in front of me. “It was kind of fun.”
“You’re seriously giving me twenty bucks to use on a psychic? You, the lady who makes me pay for my own gas, insurance, and cell phone.”
“Are you calling me cheap?” She frowned.
I gave her a dry look. “Are you denying it?”

About the Author


The most important thing to know about me is that I'm basically a sixteen-year-old trapped in an adult's body. It's why I feel such a great connection to all of my characters and why I love to write romantic comedy. The kid in me just wants to be goofy. Besides being a writer; I'm a wife, mother of five, volleyball enthusiast and home decorating guru. My list of favorites includes: reading, Christmas, pedicures, dessert, steak, Arizona winters and most importantly, Diet Coke.


Blitz Giveaway


1 winner will receive all 4 books in the Perfect Series along with a $20 Amazon Card
Print books are available to US winners only. International winners will receive ebook copies in lieu of print copies.
Ends September 24th

Grab Our Button!

September 20, 2018

Book Blitz & Giveaway - (DAY TWO of 3-day blitz!) Fate & Fortune: Part One

Don't miss a day of this 3-DAY Blitz/Giveaway! 
 (09/18, 09/20, 09/22)

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Book Blitz for
Fate and Fortune: Part One
By Robin Daniels

We're celebrating the release of Fate and Fortune: Part One, the first part in a Young Adult contemporary romance duology. Read the author's message from day one HERE, read an excerpt below, and come back on Saturday, September 22nd, HERE to read a second excerpt. Don't forget to enter the book/Amazon gift card giveaway below as well...


Fate & Fortune: Part One
By Robin Daniels
YA Contemporary Romance, Duology
ebook, 279 Pages
September 20th 2018

Bryce has liked Paige since they were little but has never had the guts to act on his feelings. Paige is devastated over being dumped by her long-time boyfriend and can’t seem to move on. They’re stuck in a rut, until fate decides to pull them out.

Both Paige and Bryce are talked into seeing a fortune teller at the annual Summer’s End Carnival. Neither of them buys into the mysticism, until the psychic’s predictions start coming true. Now, the most bizarre things are happening and there isn’t a clear explanation. Each of them must figure out if they’re the subject of an elaborate hoax or a bigger plan forged by destiny.

*This book is part one of two. Books should be read sequentially.


Excerpt

(PAIGE)

THE PLAYERS: Paige-The Heartbroken Heroine, Eric-Paige’s Older Brother, Amy-Paige’s Best Friend, Jason-Paige’s Ex-boyfriend
Eric studied me before throwing his hands in the air. “You’ve wasted your entire break, Paige. Books, work, and the occasional TV show are not a vacation. I’ve been patient because I know how hard the breakup was, but it’s time for reality. And reality means getting dressed and coming to the carnival with us.”
I shrieked. “I can’t go to the carnival. What if I run into Jason? I’ve spent the whole summer avoiding him. I won’t blow it on the very last night.”
“What happens when you see him at school?” Eric asked. I narrowed my eyes, frustrated because he was right.
We lived in a small northern Texas town—less than four thousand people—and we only had two schools. The elementary school housed kindergarten through sixth grade, and the secondary school had seventh through twelfth. The middle and high school were in separate parts of the building, but for the most part everyone knew everyone and there was no way to avoid anybody. This meant there was a 100 percent chance I’d have at least one class with Jason.
“He’s got a point,” Amy said. “Wouldn’t you rather rip the Band-Aid off tonight, so you can avoid a meltdown tomorrow?”
“Maybe I could homeschool?” I suggested half-heartedly.
“If you don’t come with us, he wins,” Eric chided.
Amy nodded in agreement, then added, “You don’t even know if he’ll be there.”
“Yeah, right,” I grumbled.
There wasn’t a lot to do around here. We had a two-screen movie theater and a ten-lane bowling alley, both of which were older than dirt and smelled funky. If you wanted good entertainment, you had to drive over an hour to Amarillo or Lubbock. The annual Summer’s End Carnival was lame, but it was something to do. Jason would certainly be there.
I chewed on my lip in panic. “What if he has a new girlfriend?”
“He doesn’t,” Eric assured me.
“Who cares if he does?” Amy snipped, growing tired of my excuses. “There’s plenty of cute, available fish in our tiny pond. You can’t settle on catfish before you’ve tried trout.”
She thought she was being clever, but her analogy sucked. “Jason is not a catfish. Catfish are ugly,” I argued.
Eric rolled his eyes. “All fish are ugly. But trout tastes better. Think of what you’d be missing if you only ever ate catfish.”
“If I only ate catfish I wouldn’t know what I’d be missing, so I wouldn’t care.”
Amy rifled through my closet. “If you want Jason back so bad, then you need to try trout. Lots of trout—preferably in front of him. Nothing makes a catfish more jealous than a good-looking trout.” She tossed some clothes at me along with my towel. “Get out there, look hot, talk to a bunch of guys, and flirt a little.”
“Who am I supposed to flirt with?”
“It doesn’t matter,” Eric answered with a smirk. He leaned against my Taylor Swift poster, because he knew it bugged me. “As long as it’s not yours truly.”
I finally cracked, unable to suppress my laughter. “Um, I think that goes without saying.”

About the Author


The most important thing to know about me is that I'm basically a sixteen-year-old trapped in an adult's body. It's why I feel such a great connection to all of my characters and why I love to write romantic comedy. The kid in me just wants to be goofy. Besides being a writer; I'm a wife, mother of five, volleyball enthusiast and home decorating guru. My list of favorites includes: reading, Christmas, pedicures, dessert, steak, Arizona winters and most importantly, Diet Coke.


Blitz Giveaway


1 winner will receive all 4 books in the Perfect Series along with a $20 Amazon Card
Print books are available to US winners only. International winners will receive ebook copies in lieu of print copies.
Ends September 24th

Grab Our Button!

September 18, 2018

Cover Reveal & Giveaway - The Songs That Brought Me Back

Coming December 4th
The Songs That Brought Me Back by Mylissa Demeyere

Have you ever made a mistake? One so monumental you lost everything? I did, and I hate myself for it! All I want to do is close my eyes, and let the darkness consume me. Make it all go away. The end.

Ainsley is drowning in the depth of her despair. One wrong decision left her alone, with only regret as her constant companion. To escape it all, she makes another choice. One she hopes will end everything. Instead, she’s thrown into a whole new world filled with opportunities she doesn’t believe she deserves.

Ethan gives the appearance of breezing through life. But underneath his bright facade, he’s scarred by loss. When fate leads him into Ainsley’s world at the exact moment she needs someone the most, he can’t ignore the chance to right the wrongs of his past.

Ainsley and Ethan will struggle to help each other heal and start anew.

They’ll learn that the secret to conquering their pain lies within their power, if only they can do it together. Always together.

Sometimes the ending is really the beginning.  

   



What Readers are Saying:

A heartfelt romance with a powerful message about the sanctity of human life. If you've ever simply needed a friend, The Songs That Brought Me Back will resonate--and leave you thankful for the people in your life. -Taylor Dean, author of I’m With You and Chasing Fireflies.  

Another remarkable read by Mylissa Demeyere. Ethan and Ainsley had me laughing and crying as they face their own demons and fall in love while doing it. This book adds even more depth as it confronts suicide head on. Suicide has become an epidemic that some are afraid to address; Demeyere brings it to light from both the victims and the survivors giving us insight on the struggles of so many. It does not disappoint and I, again, am excited to see what comes next from this talented writer. – Amazon Reviewer  

 A beautiful sequel to The Songs of You and Me that cleverly illustrates that there are always two sides to every story and that it is never too late for love to overcome any challenge. – Amazon Reviewer  

“This poignant redemption story about second chances and forgiveness yanked my emotions all over the place. I cried, I yearned, I hoped. A beautiful story about what true love is and does.” - Charissa Stastny, author of Between Hope and the Highway and The Ruled Out Romance Series


   Author Mylissa Demeyere Mylissa Demeyere was born in Belgium, and resides in the beautiful city of Ghent. She lives in a somewhat organized home with her four beautiful children and the love of her life. If she isn’t working, she’s writing, running, reading, or enjoying time with her kids, who are growing up way too fast. The Songs That Brought Me Back is her second novel in The Songs Series, with a third book releasing in the middle of 2019.



$25 Amazon Gift Code or $25 in PayPal Cash Ends 10/9/18 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use money sent via Paypal or gift codes via Amazon.com. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. This giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. 
   a Rafflecopter giveaway