November 14, 2019

Blog Tour & Giveaway - A Silver Willow by the Shore #SilvWilPrism

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

A Silver Willow by the Shore
By Kelli Stuart
Adult Historical, Contemporary, Time-Slip
Paperback & ebook, 380 Pages
October 15th 2019 by Fine Print Writing Press

How do you face the future if you don’t know your own past?

When an unexpected pregnancy changes her dreams, seventeen-year-old Annie tries to keep it from her mother and her grandmother. But secrets have a way of coming out. In a household of strong women, the arrival of a new life sets off a spiral of truth that reveals a past full of whispers and lies—a past that existed in another world under the heavy hand of Soviet oppression. This history has dictated the circumstances of the present, but hope, redemption, and forgiveness will grow in the rocky places of these generational differences.

A Silver Willow by the Shore is the story of the unshakeable love between mothers and daughters and of the impact that past decisions can have on present day circumstances. This novel weaves together the stories of generations of women, from the gulags of 1930’s Siberia, to the quiet oppression of 1980’s Soviet Moscow, to present day Tennessee. It is an unforgettable narrative of the treachery of secrets, and of the light that unites the heart of a family.

(Affiliate links included.)

My Review

*A 2019 FAVORITE!*

What a wonderful cast of characters with a unique set of storylines! 

There are three main characters in The Silver Willow by the Shore. This multi-generational story is told from the perspectives of Annie, her mother Nina, and her grandmother Elizaveta. They are dynamic and resilient women, despite the enormous burdens of secrets they keep from each other.

It was easy to sympathize with the three women and I gained a deep understanding of their pain and desires. I love how their stories are told from their own perspectives, giving me a clearer and more intimate peek into their hearts and minds. I must say, I find James, a secondary character, very special too. He gives a fullness to the story that makes him shine.

Kelli Stuart is a brilliant storyteller. It is evident that she has researched Russian history and customs, breathing life and authenticity into her characters with confidence and elegance. 

I love, LOVE, LOVE this story!

★★★★★
First Line: I know when someone’s holding a secret.
Source: I received a complimentary copy of this book as part of Prism Book Tours. Opinions expressed are completely my own.
#SilvWilPrism #PrismBookTours


About the Author


Kelli is a wife, mother, novelist, and the driver of a smoking' hot minivan. When she isn't wrangling her five children, she can be found tapping away at the keyboard. Kelli is the award winning author of Like a River From Its Course, her debut novel which won the ACFW Carol Award for Best Historical and was nominated for two Christy Awards. Kelli is also the co-author of Life Creative: Inspiration for Today's Renaissance Mom with Wendy Speake. You can find more information on her life and writings at www.kellistuart.com.


Tour Schedule


Tour Giveaway


One winner will receive a Kindle Fire Tablet with Alexa Hands Free + $50 Amazon Gift Card
US only
Ends November 20, 2019

Grab Our Button!

November 12, 2019

Spotlight & Giveaway - The Sleuth's Conundrum


Welcome to the Blog Blitz and Giveaway for The Sleuth's Conundrum by Kimberly Rose Johnson, hosted by JustRead Publicity Tours!
____________________________________________________________________
ABOUT THE BOOK
Title: The Sleuth's Conundrum
Series: The Librarian Sleuth #3
Author: Kimberly Rose Johnson
Publisher: Mountain Brook Ink
Genre: Cozy Mystery
Adam and Tara are sucked into a police investigation that might get Tara killed. Can Adam keep her safe or will he lose her forever?
Tara James, the local librarian assistant, is afraid her past will catch up to her when an infant is abandoned outside the Tipton County Library. Will news of the abandoned baby stir up publicity and force her to go on the run again?
Librarian Nancy Daley’s world has become complicated. Carter is pushing to set a wedding date, a woman was left for dead on the side of the road, and Tara, her assistant, is acting strange. Nancy is working every angle she can think of, but the case goes from bad to bizarre. Can she find the baby’s mother, help Tara, and plan her wedding without upsetting her life’s delicate balance?
Slow news days become a thing of the past for local reporter Adam Stacy when a dead body is discovered on the side of the road. Was the woman murdered or was it an accident? Adam’s feelings are growing for Tara, but she appears to have secrets she’s hiding. Is she somehow connected to the abandoned infant?
When things go from bad to worse Adam does everything in his power to protect Tara, but will it be enough?
PURCHASE LINKS: Goodreads | Amazon
____________________________________________________________________
ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Award winning author Kimberly Rose Johnson married her college sweetheart and lives in the Pacific Northwest. From a young child Kimberly has been an avid reader. That love of reading fostered a creative mind and led to her passion for writing. She especially loves romance and writes contemporary romance that warms the heart and feeds the soul.
Kimberly holds a degree in Behavioral Science from Northwest University in Kirkland, Washington, and is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers.

You can sign up for Kimberly's newsletter via her website at: https://kimberlyrjohnson.com/

CONNECT WITH KIMBERLY: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | BookBub
____________________________________________________________________
TOUR GIVEAWAY
(1) winner will receive a $10 Amazon gift card!
Enter via the Rafflecopter giveaway below. 
Giveaway will begin at midnight November 11, 2019 and last through 11:59 pm November 18, 2019. Open internationally as long as winner can accept gift card from US Amazon. Void where prohibited by law. Winners will be notified within 2 weeks of close of the giveaway and given 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen.
Giveaway is subject to the policies found here.
____________________________________________________________________
Follow along at JustRead Tours for a full list of stops!
*NOTE: This post contains affiliate links.


November 11, 2019

Book Tour & Giveaway - Home for Christmas #HCTour

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Home for Christmas
(Shores of Indian Lake #12)
By Catherine Lanigan
Contemporary Romance
Paperback & ebook, 384 Pages
November 1st 2019 by Harlequin Heartwarming

Can a magical Christmas under glass…

…bring them back together for good?

Widowed dad Adam Masterson still doesn’t understand why Joy Boston left Indian Lake and broke his heart all those years ago. Now she’s returned to sell her grandfather’s beloved poinsettia greenhouse—and Joy and Adam’s connection is as strong as ever. But Joy has a life in New York. And Adam has only until Christmas to convince Joy that she belongs in Indian Lake—with him.

(Affiliate links included.)

My Review:
Oh how I love the joyous Christmas spirit. Home for Christmas stirs that spirit, and has me yearning for the holidays.

Joy and Adam have a history in Indian Lake, but she left it long ago after painful events in her life made it too difficult to remain there. Adam stayed in Indian Lake and did the best he knew how, making a life for himself with the townsfolk that became his makeshift family. When their paths meet up again, they’re both a little surprised that the sparks, the dreams, and the emotions they once shared still remain.

I love the small town of Indian Lake. The townsfolk are charming and add so much to the story. I sympathized with Joy and the loss of her grandfather. I understood how the guilt of not visiting him more would hurt and overwhelm her. I also sympathized with Adam. He endured so much without a family to lean on after tragedy strikes. I rooted for them to both find peace and comfort. But my favorite character in this story is young Titus. Wow, what a character. He is as lovable as a big fuzzy dog—clumsy, charming, and completely irresistible.

I absolutely loved the setting, too! The poinsettia greenhouses anchor this story with their potential and fascinating, town-edifying history. Grandfather Frank’s dreams are renewed, and his memory is revived in a surprising and sweet way. Home for Christmas infused me in the spirit of Christmas and satisfied me with its ending.

First Line: Joy stood at her large office window, watching the Christmas decorating below.
Source: I received a complimentary copy of this book as part of Prism Book Tours. Opinions expressed are completely my own.
#HomeForChristmas #PrismBookTours #HCTour

Other Books in the Series:


About the Author:

Catherine Lanigan is the international bestselling and award-winning author of over forty-five published titles in both fiction and non-fiction, including the novelizations of Romancing the Stone and The Jewel of the Nile. Ms. Lanigan’s novels have been translated into over twenty-four languages. Lanigan was tasked by the NotMYkid foundation to pen a collection of compelling and informative true stories of teen addicts. Ms. Lanigan’s SHORES OF INDIAN LAKE series for HARLEQUIN HEARTWARMING includes LOVE SHADOWS, HEART’S DESIRE , A FINE YEAR FOR LOVE, KATIA’S PROMISE, FEAR OF FALLING, SOPHIE’S PATH, PROTECTING THE SINGLE MOM, FAMILY OF HIS OWN, HIS BABY DILEMMA, RESCUED BY THE FIREFIGHTER and HERS TO PROTECT (2019).

Ms. Lanigan is a frequent speaker at literary functions and book conventions as well as inspiring audiences with her real stories of angelic intervention from her Angel Tales series of books. She is an outspoken advocate for domestic violence and abuse and was honored by The National Domestic Violence Hotline in Washington, D.C. She has been a guest on numerous radio programs including “Coast to Coast” and on television interview and talk show programs as well as blogs, podcasts and online radio interview programs. She writes a monthly blog for Heartwarmingauthors.blogspot.com.


Tour Schedule:


Tour Giveaway:


- One winner will receive a $100 Amazon eGift Card (open internationally)
- Two winners will each receive a signed copy of Home for Christmas with a bookmark (US only)
- Ends November 27, 2019

Grab Our Button!

November 9, 2019

Grand Finale & Giveaway - The Heart of Aleppo #THOAPrism

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

We hope you enjoyed the tour! If you missed any of the stops
you'll find snippets, as well as the link to each full post, below:

Launch - Why Ammar wrote The Heart of Aleppo

In an over-politicized world, my wish is for this work to humanize those we call “refugees”. The Heart of Aleppo is not about the politics of the Syrian Civil War or any other conflict. Its aim is not to convince readers to support any faction or political party. Instead, this story is about the unbreakable spirit of humanity. It is about how humanity often shows its true strength during the darkest times. . .


Two days before Nabeel leaves for the last time, I find him standing at the kitchen counter with his friend, Zakariah. I don’t know his rank, but Zakariah serves directly under Nabeel in the army and only lives two miles down the road. The two of them always seem to be on leave at the same time.

Their voices are low, almost secretive, but I catch the look in Nabeel’s eye. Except back then, I didn’t recognize it.

“What are you guys talking about?”


"This "stand alone" novel is a bittersweet tale of family, friendship, war, and sacrifices. It is a highly recommended reading material for Young Adults and Adults alike. It raises several good discussion points. It is ideal reading for Book Clubs."


He looks back at me with a smile, but it fades when he sees my expression.

“What’s wrong, Zaid?”

I glance at the ground before replying, “I don’t think I want to be a doctor anymore.”

“Why not?”

“…I don’t think I can.”

He takes a few steps towards me before crouching down to come to my eye level, urging me to continue. “Ms. Farooq said I’m not smart enough.”


"The Heart of Aleppo starts with an explosion of action that drags you into the story immediately. That momentum slows at points, but picks up near the end, making it easy to breeze through in one sitting."


He takes a deep breath and glances down at my feet. His eyes look like he’s weighing something, wondering if he should say it or not. When he does speak, his voice is different. It’s no longer speaking to me as his younger brother but as his friend. “You know, Zaid, Zakariah was joking about what we were talking about.”

“Really?”

He nods before his gaze focuses back on me. “Not even a few weeks ago, my soldiers and I were in a bit of a… well, situation.”


"As with most war stories, the story told in The Heart of Aleppo is heartbreaking. Ammar Habib does a great job with the voice of a 13-year-old enduring the destruction of Aleppo during the Syrian Civil War. One of the things that impressed me was Habib’s ability to tell the story without including the politics of the war. It is truly a story of the spirit of humanity in difficult circumstances."

Wishful Endings - Excerpt

The foul stench is everywhere. It floods the buildings and road. It’s in every crevice. It’s soaked into the very brick and mortar of these streets I used to know.

We walk in a single file: Salman up front and me in the back. The sack quickly grows heavy on my shoulder, soon seeming as if it’s filled with bricks. But I trudge on. The weight of the sack is nothing compared to what my heart is feeling right now as I see the city I call home—a city that has stood for over 7,000 years—suddenly turned into wreckage.


Not even a day and a half ago, we walked from school to the bus stop. The roads were crowded with cars, trucks, and buses blaring their horns. The sidewalks were packed with pedestrians and merchants. Now, it’s a ghost town. It’s as if there was never any life here.

The city is… hollow.

A wall of smoke and smog surrounds me on all sides, preventing me from truly seeing anything clearly. Is it a blessing or a curse? I don’t see any of the destruction until I’m right on top of it. If Salman was even five more steps ahead of me, he would be lost behind the wall. We’re out on an open street; yet, it feels as if I am trapped in a prison. The dark walls of this prison follow me, not allowing me to escape their grasp.

Heidi Reads... - Excerpt

Every step is harder than the last. My feet become weighted stones. I almost can’t feel the uneven and cracked concrete underneath me. It’s as if I’m moving in a trance. I don’t know where I am or where I’m going. I’m simply walking through the abyss and listening to the only sound: my soft footsteps.

The longer we travel and the heavier my sack becomes, the more a fear grips me. The fear that we don’t know if we’re fleeing danger or walking into a den of hungry wolves. The fear that by the time we do reach home, what happened to Jari may have already happened to everyone.


Every time I look up above, hoping to catch some sight of the heavens, all I see is smoke. It’s blocking out any light from the stars. There will be no relief tonight.

I notice a silhouette up ahead. It… it appears to be the minaret of a masjid. Hope is suddenly injected into my heart. With every step, the minaret breaks out of the smoke, and I can better perceive the masjid itself. I see its domed roof. It’s standing tall above all the destruction. If it’s still standing, it’ll be safe inside, right? Nobody will come into a masjid and harm us.


Salman hops down to join Fatima. I follow him. My feet hit the ground hard, shooting a shot of pain up my legs. The sack violently smashes against my sore upper knee, and I almost fall over before Salman catches me. That hurt more than I thought it would. As I rise back up, the foul odor immediately hits me.

The fear-striking silence surrounds me once more. It’s my only companion. The hollow sound of silence is worse than gunfire and explosions. Worse than screams. Worse than terror. Because mixed into this silence is abandonment and suffering.


"The Heart of Aleppo is a very powerful read. . . . I am giving The Heart of Aleppo a well deserved five stars. I highly recommend it for all readers. It is definitely not one to be missed."

Don't forget to enter the giveaway at the end of this post...

The Heart of Aleppo:
A Story of the Syrian Civil War
By Ammar Habib
YA Contemporary
Paperback & ebook, 252 Pages
July 26th 2018

Winner of the 2019 Independent Press Award
#1 Bestseller in "Coming-Of-Age" Fiction
#1 Bestseller in "Asian-American" Literature

From the ashes of the Syrian Civil War comes this story of hope, love, and courage...

After standing for over 7,000 years, Aleppo's ruin came overnight. Separated from his family during the night the rebels attacked the city, thirteen-year-old Zaid Kadir is lost in the middle of a war zone. Alongside his friends, he is forced to survive the dangers of a civil war he does not even fully understand. Zaid witnesses the destruction of the brutal Syrian Civil War as it grows more deadly by the day and rips his city apart. However, as he braves this destruction, as he desperately tries to survive this catastrophe, he discovers something. Zaid realizes that it is in the darkest hours when humanity's spirit of hope burns brightest.

(Affiliate link included.)

About the Author


Ammar Habib is a bestselling and award-winning author who was born in Lake Jackson, Texas in 1993. Ammar enjoys crafting stories that are not only entertaining but will also stay with the reader for a long time. Ammar presently resides in his hometown with his family, all of whom are his biggest fans. He draws his inspiration from his family, imagination, and the world around him.


Tour Giveaway


One winner will receive a signed copy of Habib's national award-winning novel, Memories of My Future (US only). Memories of My Future is an historical/inspirational novel that was published in 2016. It received several accolades after its release, including the Independent Press Award in May 2017.

Ends November 13, 2019

Grab Our Button!

Grand Finale & Giveaway - Her Christmas Pregnancy Surprise #HCPSPrism

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

We hope you enjoyed the tour! If you missed any of the stops
you'll find snippets, as well as the link to each full post, below:

Launch - Note from the Author

. . . I hope you’ll join Pepper, Simon and Daisy this Christmas as they make peace with the past, embrace the miracles of the present and are filled with hope for the future.

Happy reading,

— Jennifer


"Love the abandoned puppy in the story. The author has a distinctive flair to her writing that makes it a pleasure to read. . . . If you love a good romance this book is for you. . . . This is strictly a light-hearted romance that you will enjoy reading curled up in a blanket with a cup of hot tea on a snowy day."


Was this really happening?

An invitation to one of the most exclusive parties in New York City. It didn’t get much better than this.

Okay, it wasn’t quite an invitation. Still, she was here among the crème de la crème of New York society—actresses, models, politicians, and the list went on. How she got here shouldn’t matter, right?

And, okay, she just happened to be one of the waitstaff. Not an actual guest. But still, this wasn’t just any party. This was Simon Ross’s party at the top of the tower. She stifled a squeal of delight as she considered pinching herself just to make sure this was real.



"I am giving Her Christmas Pregnancy Surprise five plus stars. I highly recommend it for readers who enjoy a light romance. It is definitely worth a read."

Becky on Books - Spotlight

FaithLaneAuthor - Excerpt

With Simon standing so close to her, she had to tilt her chin upward for their gazes to meet. As she stared into his dark eyes, she felt as though she could get lost in them. She couldn’t think of anything she’d rather do than spend the evening with him.

“I’d like to go to dinner with you.”

His voice lowered even more. “You don’t know how long I’ve wanted to ask you out.”

“Really?”

He nodded. “You intrigue me.”


"This was a, mostly, predictable tale, but was so effectively written, I could not put it down. It captured my complete interest."


“Can I ask you a question?”

He shrugged. “Sure.”

“If you like animals enough to start up a chain of pet stores, why don’t you own one?”

Simon didn’t want to think about the past and how he’d wanted a puppy so badly. Yet the door to the past had been cracked open and now the memories slithered through, filling his mind.


"I'm a sucker for holiday stories. . . . It took me a while to fall for them as a couple, because there was such a slow burn and that awkwardness between the two of them. But I did still root for them along the way. And as in all good romances, things start falling into place in the best of ways. I read through it in one evening."


"Her Christmas Pregnancy Surprise by Jennifer Faye is another laugh-out-loud book. I loved this book; it feels like, with every story, her books get better. Simon and Pepper are the definitive definitions of opposite’s do attract. There are a lot of things to love about this book, but you should read it for yourself. This book deserves the five stars I’m giving it and recommending it to everyone that loves a romance."

Melissa McClone - Excerpt

The new bakery was pulling out all the stops with big ads, radio spots and every other promotion they could think of. The bakery was part of a national chain that could afford to undercut their prices to drive the competition out of business. Then once the competitors were out of business, they’d jack up their prices. The nerve of some people.

But Pepper refused to let them drive her out of business—not without a big fight. She’d sunk everything she had into making this bakery a success. It was a dream of hers—a dream that she refused to let die, even if it meant doing things that she wouldn’t otherwise have done, like working round the clock if she had to. The chain couldn’t keep up their deep discounts forever. At least, she hoped not.


"Overall, I found this heartwarming story a fast and end entertaining read. I normally find novels about billionaires a little unbelievable but that wasn't the case in this book."


"I loved the dog in the story named Daisy. Pepper falls in love with Daisy. . . . I love the author’s books. I think this one of my favorites. It was such an enjoyable story with the dog."


"Faye tucks you into the plausible way in which two contemporary career-driven individuals can find each other quite randomly (or was it?) in their ordinary lives and find a strength of connection . . . . Faye charms you with the quirky way in which she allowed Daisy, Simon and Pepper [to] develop into a family - giving you pause for thought about the intricate ways in which our lives can be affected by each other whilst renewing your joy of a romance set during the Christmas season where anything is truly possible when it comes to love, romance and the hopefulness of second chances!"

Wishful Endings - Excerpt

He nodded. “Elaine Haskins is my assistant and the party is at my country home.”

Pepper’s face creased with lines of frustration. She didn’t say a word as she digested the information.

“I’m sorry,” he said. “This is my fault. Everyone was so impressed with you at the office party that Elaine added you to our catering list. After what happened between us, I forgot to say anything to her. I totally understand you wanting to cancel—”

“Cancel?” Her shoulders straightened and she lifted her chin slightly. “I’m not canceling.”

Splashes of Joy - Review

"This is quite the Christmas story, with a little surprise thrown in to make it a bit of a surprise. I enjoyed Pepper’s character. . . . This is a nice sweet read, it only took a few hours to read."

Hallie Reads - Review

"Get in the Christmas spirit with Jennifer Faye’s Her Christmas Pregnancy Surprise! It’s a fun story full of delicious treats, complicated romance, and an adorable rescued puppy."

Don't forget to enter the giveaway at the end of this post...


Her Christmas Pregnancy Surprise
By Jennifer Faye
Contemporary Romance
Paperback & ebook, 256 Pages
November 1st 2019 by Harlequin Romance

A festive reunion…

…with an unexpected gift!

When Pepper Kane’s home and bakery are burned down in the weeks before Christmas, billionaire CEO Simon Ross—the man she spent one unforgettable night with—comes to the rescue! Pepper knows this playboy doesn’t do relationships, but staying with him in his penthouse and caring for an abandoned puppy, their spark is rekindled… And then comes a festive surprise that shocks them both: she’s carrying his baby!

(Affiliate links included.)

Freebie


Go to Jennifer's Contact Page HERE and order your bookmark(s)!

About the Author


Award-winning author, Jennifer Faye pens fun, heartwarming contemporary romances with rugged cowboys, sexy billionaires and enchanting royalty. Internationally published with books translated into nine languages. She is a two-time winner of the RT Book Reviews Reviewers' Choice Award, the CataRomance Reviewers' Choice Award, named a TOP PICK author, and been nominated for numerous other awards.


Tour Giveaway


One winner will receive (US only):
  • The Pioneer Woman – Utensil Crock and spoon holder
  • $25 Amazon Gift Card
  • Wilton cookie cutters & more…
  • Plus autographed copy of HER CHRISTMAS PREGNANCY SURPRISE
Ends November 13, 2019

Grab Our Button!