August 23, 2019

Giveaway & Grand Finale - A Family for Jason

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Book Tour Grand Finale for
A Family for Jason
By Virginia McCullough

We hope you enjoyed the tour! If you missed any of the stops
you'll find snippets, as well as the link to each full post, below:

Launch - Note from the Author

Everyone loves a reunion, and A FAMILY FOR JASON provides one sure to touch the toughest of hearts! Welcome to the first book in my new series, Back to Bluestone River. . .


"Sigh. Virginia McCullough knocks it out of the park again with this clean romance that is the first in her new series. Ruby and Mike had been high school sweethearts, until horrific tragedies separated them from each other and from the small town they had so dearly loved while growing up. Modern day difficult times, about 20 years later, have brought them both back home, neither one realizing that the other is there. It's a great foundation for a second chance romance. . . . I truly greatly enjoyed this book and highly recommend it for those who are looking for a real heartwarming clean romance."


"A Family For Jason is a great start to a new series! The author does a fabulous job of setting the scene & introducing pivotal characters to lay a foundation for future books. Jason will have your heart in no time & you’ll ache along with him and Mike – as well as for all the time Mike and Ruby lost. A sweet second chance romance!"


“You’ve made a friend, Jason.”

The boy glanced Ruby’s way, but still didn’t speak.

“He’s kind of quiet.” The woman patted the top of the boy’s head. “That’s okay. You’ll talk when you’re ready.” She flashed Ruby a pointed look.

She was trying to communicate something, but Ruby didn’t know what. Not exactly. But the thin pale lines and telltale puckering of burn scars on the boy’s forearms might have something to do with his silence.


"A Family for Jason, book #1 in Virginia McCullough’s Back to Bluestone River series, is a sweet romance with an appealing setting and characters that are easy to connect with. I enjoyed this fulfilling, heartwarming story and look forward to all that is to come in the series."


"I recommend it for readers who enjoy to read clean romance and heartwarming stories. Some readers may want to grab some tissues for this one. It is somewhat predictable but definitely worth a read. It is one that should not be missed. I look forward to the next installment from the Back to Bluestone River series."


". . . you can tell McCullough has taken her time to develop this series, of giving us a well-rounded and well-thought out plotting to where the foundation of the series can build out of this first installment."

EmpowerMoms - Review

"I loved this sweet romance story involving Mike, Ruby and Jason. I loved reading about their town and their high school memories and growing up. It was so tragic how a past mistake affected so many lives for so many years. . . . Great story line, great characters, clean romance… I can’t wait to read more about this town and hopefully the town’s progress over the series of stories. I really enjoyed it!"


"This book has everything the reader wants in a romance and more. A struggling small town. The reunification of high school sweethearts. A sweet boy who was traumatized by a real-life experience. A best friend relationship that has stood the test of time. New beginnings, new adventures. Oh, and a cute, smart dog to boot! I cannot think of any better way to begin a romance series. . . . Highly recommended reading for any time of the year!"

Hallie Reads - Review

"The start to Virginia McCullough’s Back to Bluestone River series, A Family for Jason delivers a sweet story of returning home and second chances. It’s a perfect read for any reader in the mood for heartwarming contemporary romance. . . . Their experience is full of drama, emotion, and small-town charm, and I enjoyed my time with A Family for Jason. I’m definitely looking forward to reading more of this series in the future."


"A Family for Jason is full of real life. Every one of us goes through trials throughout our lives. This book cuts deep and is real. . . . A Family for Jason by Virginia McCullough fulfilled my expectations of realistic life difficulties and fast heart beating romance."

Splashes of Joy - Review

"Ms. McCullough does a really nice job weaving together three different people with three entirely different situations, and writing a tender story that will war your hearts, as it did mine. . . . If you haven’t read any books by this AUTHOR, this book would be a very nice start to your Virginia McCullough collection. For me, it is a tender heartwarming story that will stay with me for a while. You dont want to miss A FAMILY FOR JASON."

Harlie's Books - Excerpt

He walked closer to the slide, waving to Jason, who sat at the top. Jason waved back, but then his focus seemed to shift and he hesitated for a couple of seconds at the top. When he let go of the handholds and slid to the bottom, he ran toward Mike, but then passed him. Mike spun around and saw a golden retriever straining on the end of a long leash. He smiled to himself. He got it. That dog was much more interesting than Dad.

His gaze followed Jason coming to an abrupt stop a few feet from the dog. He glanced at the woman holding the leash who was coming through the bridge and smiling at Jason. His stomach flipped as he froze in place.

Ruby. Ruby was on the other end of the leash. She leaned over to pat the dog’s side. Red-haired, brown-eyed, smiling Ruby.

Pause for Tales - Review

"This was a sweet and yet heartbreaking romance that shows how sometimes the awful circumstances and others people's decisions can definitely take a toll on young love. But true love can and will survive."


"I loved Emma dog. Peach helped Jason so much. Books with children and dogs are always enjoyable to read — nothing like the healing power of a dog."


"I like a single dad romance and this one had plenty of heart. This is also a great second chance romance. . . . This is a book you can easily fall into and just want to gobble up. Both Mike and Ruby are great characters with a lot of heart. You root for them to get their second chance at a future."


"You definitely will need 5 full teacups and some tissues for this amazingly sweet and romantic book by Virginia McCullough! A Family for Jason is just so amazing and I loved all of the characters. . ."


“Quit twisting my words. You know what I mean. I can’t stay.” She hadn’t confided to Emma that she had this same argument with herself every night.

“You must think men like Mike come along every day.” Emma snapped her fingers. “Just like that.

Ruby groaned. “No, I don’t.” Like she needed that reminder.

“I’ll say it again, Rubes, every woman I’ve ever known wants a guy to look at her the way he looks at you.”


"A Family for Jason is the first book in Virginia McCullough’s brand new Back to Bluestone River series and centers around reunited first loves, a lawyer and a crisis specialist as they each return to their hometown twenty years after the tragedy that tore them apart. . . . I recommend this book to everyone who enjoys a sweet romance filled with the back drop of a small town. It was deep, emotional and satisfying!"

Remembrancy - Review

"A homecoming to a dying town, first loves reunited, and a precious little boy makeVirginia McCullough’s A Family for Jason a book you don’t want to miss. . . . I got swept away in the forests, river, and lake surrounding Bluestone River. . . . Seriously, the ending of this book is utter perfection!"

Don't forget to enter the giveaway at the end of this post, if you haven't already...

A Family for Jason
(Back to Bluestone River #1)
By Virginia McCullough
Contemporary Romance
Paperback & ebook, 384 pages
August 1st 2019 by Harlequin Heartwarming

She’s not home for keeps

Unless he proves first love is forever

Bluestone River is a minefield of memories for Mike Abbot—all involving Ruby Driscoll. Twenty years after scandal divided them, they’re both back in their hometown. Ruby’s visit is strictly temporary. But as she uses her trauma expertise to help his vulnerable son, Mike faces what his heart has always known. Ruby’s still his one and only. This time, can he convince her to stay?

About the Author

Born and raised in Chicago, Virginia McCullough has been lucky enough to develop her writing career in many locations, including the coast of Maine, the mountains of North Carolina, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and currently, Northeast Wisconsin. She started her career in nonfiction, first writing articles and then books as a ghostwriter and coauthor. She’s written more than 100 books for physicians, business owners, professional speakers and many others with information to share or a story to tell.

Virginia’s books feature characters who could be your neighbors and friends. They come in all ages and struggle with everyday life issues in small-town environments that almost always include water—oceans, lakes, or rivers. The mother of two grown children, you’ll find Virginia with her nose a book, walking on trails or her neighborhood street, or she may be packing her bag to take off for her next adventure. And she’s always working on another story about hope, healing, and second chances.

Tour Giveaway


- 1 winner will receive a $25 Amazon eGift Card and a $25 Etsy eGift Card
- Open internationally for those who are eligible
- Ends August 28, 2019

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Grab Our Button!

Giveaway & Grand Finale - Dawnsinger [Christian Fantasy]

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Book Tour Grand Finale for
DawnSinger
By Janalyn Voigt

We hope you enjoyed the tour! If you missed any of the stops
you'll find snippets, as well as the link to each full post, below:

Launch - Note from the Author

Dear Friends,

Welcome to this book tour of DawnSinger, an epic medieval fantasy adventure. Fantasy will always be my first love, although I’ve become a multi-genre author. That’s a fancy term for a storyteller. If I could turn the clock back to the Middle Ages, I’d be a bard. Author Linda Windsor, an endorser of DawnSinger, named the story bardic fiction. I consider that high praise indeed. . .

Colorimetry - Excerpt

Now for a stormy moment in flight...

A crosswind caught Kai’s wingabeast as lightning flared too near. Shrilling, the winged horse tilted in flight, and Kai’s stomach lurched. A gust snatched the hood from his head and roared in his ears. He blinked to clear the stinging rain that drove into his eyes. Thunder boomed like a timpani, shaking the air. Flecht shuddered beneath him, and Kai placed a calming hand on his wingabeast’s straining neck. He did not like this long flight through the wild night any better than did Flecht.


"DawnSinger is an epic tale that unfurls in a world that is different, yet so familiar. A high fantasy world with flying horses, spirits, and mind magic, Janalyn Voight was able to create a world that is fresh and new in the fantasy genre. . . . Overall, DawnSinger is a satisfying read, and has a subtle message at the end that will leave the reader thinking afterwards."

Heidi Reads... - Excerpt

Shae put up her hood and left the shelter of the stronghold to follow the graystone path. A chill wind rippled through the folds of her cloak, and she shivered. Overhead, clouds unfurled in a pearling sky. She passed into green scented shadow, where notes of damp moss and ripe humus met her.

She shouldn’t have yielded to temptation and escaped into nature unescorted. In earlier days, she had roamed the grounds in freedom with no one caring. She couldn’t get used to the strictures placed on her now that she’d grown older. When would she learn to be more like Katera? She couldn’t remember her winsome twin ever causing their mother concern.

Remembrancy - Review

"Jannalyn [Voigt] vividly paints a picture of her fantasy world with descriptive words and phrases. It’s not challenging to imagine this land filled with wondrous beauty and creatures as well as barren and desolate places. Shae, kai, and a handful of others undertake an epic quest to save their beloved people and king. I enjoyed both of these elements of the story. . . . Now that I’ve gotten the cadence of this mystical, magical world, I’m not ready to leave it yet."

Jessica Belmont - Review

"Epic Christian Fantasy? Yes, please. DawnSinger is an inventive novel with beautifully descriptive prose and dialogue. I absolutely love the imagery and symbolism woven through the book. . . . I highly recommend checking out this original and inspiring novel."

Uplifting Reads - Excerpt

Flecht quivered under Kai’s hand. Shae must have communicated to the beast the tension he read in her face. Why did she stare at the naked branches of the small, white tree? He drew his brows together but didn’t speak. Her eyes, so green they reminded him of deep shadows in an old forest, told him nothing. As she settled the cloak upon her shoulders, burnished tangles cascaded down her back. She looked beautiful and far too grown.

Something had upset Shae—that much seemed obvious. Equally obvious was her desire for privacy in the matter. Well, he didn’t question such things. He already held enough secrets to quell any desire for more.

Bookworm Lisa - Review

"The story is a war between good and evil. Shae is guided by the light of the God she worships. She has companions who will do anything to protect her and keep her from fulfilling an ancient prophecy. There is plenty of action and adventure that will thrill fantasy lovers. . . . I am now invested in the story and look forward to having good prevail."


"The plot shows the draw of evil and the difficulty even the good have of resisting its pull. Voight did an excellent job of creating an alternate universe and having things remain consistent within that world. The book does have a bit of a surprise ending and I look forward to seeing how that surprise plays out in future titles in the Tales of Faeraven series."


He smiled. “Your heart speaks truth. I am a wayfarer…and I am more.” He stroked the tears from her cheeks, feather-light, like the touch of a draft.

“Peace.” The whispered word brought infinite comfort.

Shae closed her eyes and breathed deep.

“Remember, Shae, you must look to the light.”

She opened her eyes, ready to ask how he knew her name.

She knelt alone in the Allerstaed.

JeanBookNerd - Guest Post

Funny how childhood memories embed themselves in your mind, but only parts of them. I can still feel the rough paper as I turned another page in a novel from my parent’s bookcase. A precocious reader, I’d advanced long ago into adult books. I don’t remember this one’s title, but the story followed the journeys of Sir Francis Drake, an early explorer. Specific phrases are lost to me, but the vivid imagery remains. I can still hear the ship’s creaking, bask in sunlight breaking through the clouds, and taste sea salt on my lips. . .

jypsylynn - Review

"I became invested in the outcome because I cared about the characters. I see their quest as allegorical to some biblical tales and symbolic of the eternal good vs. evil battle. . . . The plot is thrilling with action and drama at every turn leaving readers wanting more. Overall, Dawnsinger is a well written adventure steeped in thoughtfully planned fantasy that fans of the genre will surely enjoy."


"DawnSinger is the first book in the series and in true fantasy fashion there is an epic quest, terrible dangers, betrayal, a taste of forbidden love, and even more importantly the story gets darker as the conclusion draws nearer. . . . I enjoyed DawnSinger, its characters and strange creatures, and I look forward to returning to the land of Faeraven in the next book in the series..."

I'm Into Books - Excerpt

Shae landed in Flecht’s saddle with a thump as Kai deposited her with more speed than grace. He bent and then straightened, and she caught the glint of metal.

Kai pressed something into her palm, and her fingers curled around a knife’s hilt. “They’ll need to dismount to attack with swords. I’ll defend you, but if things go badly, take Flecht and follow the weild to the inn. You’ll see it just back from the banks. You can trust the innkeeper.”

Kai strode from her before she could point out that she had no idea how to fly a wingabeast. His sword rasped as he drew it from its sheath.


"Oh wow, I really loved this book! . . . If you love a good fantasy with loads of adventure, then this is the book for you!"


“Only the cold and weariness that comes at such altitudes—and wind shears. But I know the passes well.”

He didn’t mention the possibility of encountering wingabeast riders bent on killing them, but she knew it existed. Even now, the dark riders might track them.

She closed her eyes to pray with zeal but soon fell into the languor of warmth and drowsiness. “My thanks,” she said, her tongue thick with sleep.

“Thanks?”

“You protected me this night.”

“Sleep, Shae.” She heard the smile in his voice. “Tomorrow’s journey will try our strength.”


"The biggest factor in whether I like a Fantasy book is the world building. Janalyn gets it right. She creates such a beautiful and interesting world. She definitely made the world of Faeraven unique filled with interesting creatures and characters. . . . I really liked Shae and Kai’s characters. I felt that we could relate to them. . . . Overall, I really enjoyed the story. Suspense, murder, drama and action were just around the corner in every chapter. . . . I think this book would also be great for teens as it read more like a YA book. Great for adults and teens alike."


“Kai.” A voice rasped from the carved bed that dominated the room. “You have brought her?”

Shae started. In a combination of weariness and awe of Torindan, she had all but forgotten the purpose of her visit.

The musician came away from the window, and light slanted across him to reveal a lithe figure and features of surpassing beauty. Vibrant hair of gold sprang above a well-formed brow. Fathomless eyes held her. Shae caught her breath, and her hand went out in a blind motion.

Jorie Loves A Story - Spotlight

J. L. Mbewe - Excerpt

A foul wind breathed over Shae, and the hair on the back of her neck raised in warning. A hissing from the broken stairway sent prickles walking over her skin. Eyes gleamed in the shadows, and long shudders traveled her spine.

Somewhere, something shrieked.

Shae stumbled on the stone stair suspended between a dark void and a wall of living stone. She called for Kai, but her voice made no sound. Where was he?

“Find the light and be saved…” The whispered words stirred the air.


"This was a beautifully written Christian fantasy. I enjoyed the bits of scripture thrown into the story, it really made them come alive in a more action-packed way. The writing was interesting and the characters kept me hooked. I also enjoyed the world and different places in the world. . . . Such a fantastic read and can't wait to read that sequel!"

Don't forget to enter the giveaway at the end of this post, if you haven't already...

DawnSinger
(Tales of Faeraven #1)
By Janalyn Voigt
Fantasy, Christian Fantasy
Paperback & ebook, 342 Pages
June 29, 2012 by Harbourlight Books

The High Queen is dying...

At the royal summons, Shae mounts a wingabeast and soars through the air to the high hold of Faeraven, where all is not as it seems. Visions warn her of danger, and a dark soul touches hers in the night. When she encounters an attractive but disturbing musician, her wayward heart awakens.

But then there is Kai, a guardian of Faeraven and of Shae. Secrets bind him to her, and her safety lies at the center of every decision he makes.

On a desperate journey fraught with peril and the unknown, they battle warlike garns, waevens, ferocious raptors, and the wraiths of their own regrets. Yet, they must endure the campaign long enough to release the DawnKing and the salvation he offers into a divided land. To prevail, each must learn that sometimes victory comes only through surrender.


About the Author


Janalyn Voigt is a writer and professional speaker with a photography habit and a passion for travel. Her unique blend of adventure, romance, suspense, and fantasy creates worlds of beauty and danger for readers. Tales of Faeraven, her epic fantasy series beginning with DawnSinger, carries readers into a land only imagined in dreams. She is represented by Sarah Joy Freese of Wordserve Literary.


Tour Giveaway


One winner will receive a fantasy-themed basket, hand-painted Pegasus mug, hand-crafted beaded votive candle bowl, dark chocolate bar, and a Tales of Faeraven bookmark (US only)

Ends August 28th, 2019

Grab Our Button!

August 22, 2019

Dear Grandchild, This Is Me - book review

I love keepsake books like this! And what a unique and special way to celebrate and strengthen the bond with your grandchild, by presenting an intimate and personal glimpse into your life.

This sturdy, hardback book provides many opportunities to show your grandchild your personal history, heritage, and heart. I would’ve loved to receive a book like this from my grandparents. I would’ve treasured it forever!

The visual theme of the book is colorful trees, which I find appropriate. The pages provide spaces to write personal letters, insights, family tree info, traditions, photographs, and much more. Some pages even contain envelopes to store special notes, photos, or other small mementos.

Dear Grandchild, This Is Me is a precious gift and keepsake for your present or future grandchild. I love it.

My thoughts on the cover:
I love that this is a sturdy decorated hardback book without a slipcover that can become worn or damaged. The tree is a nice design-representing leaves of the family tree.
My thoughts on the title:
Personal and sweet.


★★★★★

Publisher: Waterbrook
Pages: 80
SourceI received a complimentary copy from the MPNews blogger program and was under no obligation to post a positive review.

#TeamPRH #PRHPartner

August 17, 2019

The Illustrated NIrV Holy Bible for Kids


One of the most important ways of guiding a child is by sharing stories from the Bible. And what better way to do so than to give them a Bible they can read on their own? This illustrated reader’s version is adorable and easy to digest. It contains an abundance of colorful illustrations, and smart topic labels that make navigation easy. (e.g. Adam and Eve, Jacob Takes Esau’s Blessing, Daniel is Thrown Into a Den of Lions, Lazarus Dies, etc.)
  

·      The maps and illustrations make me reminiscent of my Sunday School days as a child, when my teachers would use felt board characters and scenes as teaching tools. 
·      The font is easy on the eyes, and the drawings make Bible time fun and memorable. 
·      The hardback cover is super sturdy, colorful, and interesting.
·      Attached to the back cover is a full-color, removable, double-sided poster.

This isn’t a Bible storybook. This is a full-text Bible. It doesn’t contain unnecessary information pages—just a brief word about the NIrV, a table of contents, a young reader’s version of the Holy Bible, and over 750 supporting pictures.

The Illustrated NIrV Holy Bible for Kids is my FAVORITE children’s Bible! 


πŸ’ž Cover Love πŸ’ž
Such an intricate, interesting, and colorful cover. It’s a sturdy hardcover with eye-catching illustrations.
My thoughts on the title:
Long, but appropriate.

★★★★★

Publisher: Zonderkidz
Target Age: 4-8
Version: NIrV (New International Reader’s Version)
Pages: 1,552
SourceI received a complimentary copy of this Bible as a member of the Bible Gateway Blogger Grid. Opinions expressed are completely my own.


#KidsBible #ChildrensBible #NIrV #BibleGatewayPartner

August 16, 2019

Giveaway & Grand Finale - Falling for Her Bodyguard

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Book Tour Grand Finale for
Falling for Her Bodyguard
By Amy Vastine

We hope you enjoyed the tour! If you missed any of the stops
you'll find snippets, as well as the link to each full post, below:

Launch - Note from the Author

. . . Falling for Her Bodyguard is a story about opening your heart even when your head has been telling you to keep the walls up. Enjoy the excerpts and reviews - I hope you fall in love with the newest members of the Grace Note family as much as I did!

xoxo,
Amy Vastine

Remembrancy - Review

"But what tipped the scales for me in this book were the characters. . . . Then add in Donovan’s troubled nephew and adorable, energetic niece, and Falling for Her Bodyguard becomes that much sweeter. I didn’t even mind that I had figured out who the stalker was fairly early on. Getting to spend time with Kelly, Donovan, Graham, Avery, and several of the radio crew more than made up for it."


"I love Falling for Her Bodyguard. I am giving it four and a half stars. I highly recommend this fun, clean, heartwarming and sweet book. I would be interested in reading more books by Amy Vastine in the future."


A woman on her phone pushed open the door. “I understand you’re trying to protect me, but this is a little extreme don’t you think?” she said as she jogged down the steps and onto the sidewalk. Ending her call, she turned around and glanced up at Donovan. Her dark hair was pulled back into a ponytail and her eyes were covered by aviator sunglasses. “Well, come on. He’s going to send you to the station regardless of what I have to say about it.”

This must be the niece. Dressed in jeans and a black T-shirt knotted at her hip, she didn’t give him many clues as to what she might have to do today. Donovan could see why Dillon told him Captain was protective. She was attractive, albeit a tad rude. She stormed ahead before coming to an abrupt stop.


"This is a new to me author and already I'm in love!!

The author has done a wonderful job in mixing this story with the right amount of mystery . . . . I really liked the story.

It kept me occupied until I realized what time it was!! I didn't even noticed the sun had begun to set tonight!!

I will be looking for more from this author!!!"

Pause for Tales - Review

"What a fun read this one was. I really enjoyed the give and take between the two leads, Kelly and Donovan. This being a stalker story the tension was always in the background giving a more forceful push for their relationship. . . . This was one story that was hard to put down for real life."


"I highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a sweet romance with a strong family foundation, lots of emotion and a hint of intrigue. The characters were very well developed, the story line was endearing and the overall outcome very satisfying. Really enjoyed watching this happily ever after evolve!"


He scooted his chair closer to Kelly’s and reached for her hand. “What do you want to do today? I was thinking we could do a little self-defense training.”

“I need to find a new place to live.” She held his hand in both of hers.

“You’re serious about that?”

“I can’t go back there. My lease is almost up. I was thinking about actually buying a place once I signed my new contract at work. When you’re in radio, you run the risk of having to move from town to town. A new contract at K104 means I can put down some roots finally.”

Onemused - Review

"FALLING FOR HER BODYGUARD is a fantastic character-driven romantic suspense that I would highly recommend for anyone looking for something deeper yet still fun. I absolutely loved this read from the beginning that hooks you all the way to the satisfying conclusion."


"I always loved books with kids in it. . . . I loved reading about the different activities they had. Loved the family environment that Donovan’s had with his niece and nephew."


Donovan’s head hurt from trying to make sense of clues that added up to practically nothing. He only saw one solution to their problem. “I think we need to set a trap. I’ll have to coordinate with the other detectives, but I think we have you say something on the radio and you invite him somewhere to make amends. If he thinks you want to apologize, he could come into it without any thoughts of doing harm.”

Kelly cringed. “I don’t like that idea. Lying to trap this guy? I feel like that could backfire. What if he finds out I’m lying?”


"The novel was a fun and interesting read. The "stalker portion" of the story wasn't the main pull of the novel but, it was a surprise at the end. Surprisingly, I didn't mind that the romance took center stage because both characters were lovable and realistic. I thought the novel was a cute and romantic read."

EmpowerMoms - Review

"This was a really sweet story! Romance…drama…whats not to like?! . . . I haven’t read any of the other books in the “Grace Note Records” series-they can be read as stand alone novels. This story kept my interest from beginning to end. I highly recommend this easy, heartwarming, fun book!"


“I don’t believe you aren’t good at everything and you don’t believe I’m as bad as I claim. That’s funny.” Kelly’s cheeks were hurting from smiling so much. “Maybe you can show me how to make something I can’t mess up. If I manage to make something edible on my own, it will prove I’m right about you and you’re right about me. We would both have to admit that you are good at everything and I am not as bad as I think I am. If I bomb, then you are right about you and I am right about me.”

The space between his brows wrinkled. “The way your mind works both fascinates and scares me at the same time.”

“I think that’s the perfect way to find out who’s right about who.”


"There was something wholesome and sweet about how this story resolves itself; as Vastine lets you take the adventure with Donovan and Kelly. In many instances, they were more caught inside the hours they spent with Avery and Graham; where they were laying down the foundation of a relationship but moreso to that, they were setting down a foundation for a family. Those hours were the most special of the story, as it is where you saw the barriers of grief and anguish starting to tumble down and where true healing could emerge. The kids needed someone as a mediator between themselves and their Uncle Donovan whereas where Kelly excelled at understanding what it was like to have a cop in the family, she also softened Donovan's heart to accept that sometimes life brings unexpected circumstances that are good for the soul."

Hallie Reads - Review

"I so enjoyed my time with these characters. Kelly and Donovan—plus the kids and the Nashville community—made reading Falling for Her Bodyguard such a delight. Any reader in need of a feel-good contemporary romance cannot go wrong with this book."


"These are such well-developed characters that I feel many will be able to relate to. Also, the plot just flows beautifully and one can't help but feel a part of the community and world that Vastine creates. Impeccable writing and a very new-to-me author and one I will enjoy reading more from! If you love a sweet romance with a handsome yet deeply romantic and caring Hero, then this is the book for you!"

Harlie's Books - Excerpt & Review

“I’m going to kiss you to prove there’s nothing going on,” he warned her, waiting for her to protest. She didn’t. Her lips slightly parted and she stared deep into his eyes, making it hard to breathe.

He leaned down and pressed his lips to hers. Softly, gently. Convincing himself that this made him feel nothing was hard to do when it made him feel so much. His whole body felt like it was on fire and she was both the flame and the balm that would take away all the pain. His hand cupped her cheek and he tilted her face upward so he could deepen the kiss just a bit. Her arms snaked around his neck and held him in place.

The whole world dropped away and there was nothing but Kelly and this feeling—this feeling he couldn’t begin to label. All he knew was he loved it and hated it at the same time. He wanted to push her away and pull her closer. Nothing made sense. Instead of giving him clarity, he felt more confused than ever.

"Buy the book. Read the book. Fall in love with Donovan and Kelly like I did. I dare you and come back to tell how much I was right. I can wait. Ms. Vastine has written another wonderful story about learning to trust, fall in love and believe in yourself."


"I loved this story. It was a hard one to put down to get a little bit of sleep. So don't start reading it right before bed. It's a great addition to the Harlequin Heartwarming Series. And like I said, I'm going to have to find more from this author and the Grace Note Records series now."


"Falling for Her Bodyguard is swoony and sweet with just enough suspense to keep you on the edge of your seat and riveted to the story. Each of the primary characters (Kelly, Donovan, Avery and Graham) are solidly drawn and multi-dimensional, and you’ll fall in love with each one. This story is delightful from beginning to end – a must-read for fans of sweet contemporary romance!"

Don't forget to enter the giveaway at the end of this post, if you haven't already...

Falling for Her Bodyguard
(Grace Note Records #4)
By Amy Vastine
Contemporary Romance
Paperback & ebook, 384 Pages
August 1st 2019 by Harlequin Heartwarming

She needs his protection…

But can he protect his heart?

Radio personality Kelly Bonner isn’t convinced she needs a bodyguard, especially one as intensely good-looking as Detective Donovan Walsh. Yet beneath Donovan’s tough-guy facade is a man struggling to raise his sister’s children. A man Kelly could care about…if he’d let her. Now she’ll have to find a way to convince her big, bad bodyguard that his family—and his heart—are safe in her hands.


Other Books in the Series

Catch a Fallen Star

About the Author

Amy Vastine has been plotting stories in her head for as long as she can remember. An eternal optimist, she studied social work, hoping to teach others how to find their silver lining. Now, she enjoys creating happily ever afters for all to read. Amy lives outside Chicago with her high school sweetheart husband, three teenagers who keep her on her toes, and their two sweet but mischievous pups.




Tour Giveaway


1 winner will receive a $25 Amazon Gift Card, a Reading is my Superpower custom-made sign, an autographed copy of The Girl He Used to Love and a bookmark (if winner is outside US then they would receive an ebook and egift card only)

Ends August 21, 2019

Grab Our Button!