June 3, 2015

A Heart's Betrayal

A Heart’s Betrayal, by Colleen Coble, is book four of a six-part Journey of the Heart series that takes place during the mid 1800s. It’s an emotionally charged read and difficult to put down.

“This is going to come as quite a shock to you, and I’m truly sorry for that.” ~ A Heart’s Betrayal

Emmie's late husband had secrets and wasn’t the man she’d once though he was. That troubling truth is compounded by the fact that what she thought was left to her doesn’t belong to her at all! To escape the shame and embarrassment, she hopes to start over in Laramie, Wyoming—but she soon discovers the past isn’t so easy to leave behind. 

I really like this unique ‘mini’ story series concept. Each installment is easily read in a day, but though the stories are short, they lack nothing in content. Brimming with action, adventure, and love, the characters are flawed, believable, and sympathetic. I am sucked into the series.

Even though it’s unconventional (and totally unplanned to read this series out of order) each installment has been full and interesting on its own. I’ve grown to love these characters and can’t wait to delve further in their lives.

I’ve read other works by Colleen Coble and I’ve never been disappointed. From the settings to the character arcs, I love every aspect of her writings, and can’t wait to read the complete Journey of the Heart series.

4.5 Stars

Cover: Love it
Title: Love it
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Pages: 112
Pace: Fast
First lines: The ticking of the grandfather clock in the hallway echoed in the shrouded darkness of the parlor. Emmie Courtney sat on the black horsehair sofa, her hands clasped in the folds of her silk skirt.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a Review Copy from the publisher through BookLook and NetGalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The options I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

No comments:

Post a Comment

I am a comment lover!